The Top 10 Books on my TBR List

Standard

The awesome thing about FreshlyPressed is that it tends to lead me to some pretty awesome blogs, like The Broke and the Bookish (run by college students, how cool is that). The original topic is “for winter” but clearly it is not winter here right now. I am assuming that TBR means “To Be Read”. If it isn’t, well… that’s  embarrassing. It is summer holidays. Not very long for a medical student, but long enough to catch up on some reading and some skin pigmentation.

Three-letter Plague by Johnny Steinberg (Sizwe’s Test to USA readers)

The History Professor I met earlier this year told me to read this book when I told her that 28 Stories of AIDS in Africa inspired me to study medicine. I haven’t seen her again, but I still want to read it. Funny thing, people keep asking me these holidays if AIDS is really as bad as it is portrayed   to be. No. It is worse.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

I must admit that I have never read any of Wilde’s works. I recently read the first chapter of my friend’s copy and decided this one has to be read. Also, I have heard it is excellent.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I have never managed to finish reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin, no matter how earnestly I tried. It is my kind of story, and the help sound’s excellent. I am not entirely sure that I need more reason than that.

The Host by Stephanie Meyer

I actually just finished this book a few minutes ago, so I think it still gets to be on the list. Especially since it is miles better than the Twilight Saga, which I never managed to finish reading.

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I have also (shamefully) never read any of Tolkien’s books. Nor have I watched the Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Somebody gave me the book when I was very young and I think I may just have been too young to get into it. It is time though, I think.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

I am not particularly proud of having this one on my list, but The Boy really enjoy’s Kate’s books and I figured I would give it a try. If it is absolutely horrible I will stop reading at the second chapter anyway.

 

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson

I started reading this at a friend’s house but had to leave long before I could finish it. I also watched the movie. Dad listened to the audiobook (he says it is not the best example of a novel for audiobook  purposes, but good nonetheless).

 

Persuasion by Jane Austen

Another author whom I have never read. I know, rather uncultured for someone who likes to think of herself as bookish. Anyway, I was told that this might be the best Austen novel to start with. I welcome other suggestions.

 

Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand

I have a friend who loves quoting from this book and it sounds good. I think it may be a difficult read though, and I have become a lax reader.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I am not sure why I have not heard of this book before. I’m not even sure if it has reached South Africa yet. But if it has, I’ll read it.

16 thoughts on “The Top 10 Books on my TBR List

  1. Oooh…three of those are on my to-read list (The Help, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, and Hunger Games), even though I have a really hard time getting through books these days. Three Letter Plague also sounds like a very worthwhile read.

    • The time issue is making me seriously consider audiobooks when I go back to school in January. I’m just not sure it will feel the same though. I always used to say I would never not have time to read – guess I was wrong :)

  2. Lol, yes TBR is To Be Read ;)
    Glad you discovered us as well! I’m a med student too, almost into my residency :) Very exciting!
    Oh, and the Hunger Games is AMAZING! Seriously, everyone I’ve pushed this book on has loved it! And Persuasion is wonderful as well, I’m a big Jane Austen fangirl :)
    -Daisy @ the Broke and the Bookish

  3. Drop everything and read The Hunger Games! It is epic! I agree with you on The Host! It’s like it was written by a different author! The Help is fabulous, but do yourself a favor and listen to the audio version. It really brings it to life! Enjoy!

    My Top Ten

  4. Pingback: Flashback to Surveys « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  5. Pingback: TTT: Top Books I Read in 2011 « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  6. Pingback: The 2012 Mixing It Up Challenge « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  7. Pingback: TTT: 2012 Reading Prospects « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

