TTT: 2012 Reading Prospects

Standard

Top Ten Tuesday is an original blogging meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we discuss the books we most look forward to reading in the coming year.

1. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo – I’ve said again and again how long I’ve been meaning to read this book, and I finally found it in (cheap) ebook format. I started reading it yesterday and I’m currently finding it a bit slow…

2. Bloodstream by Tess Gerritsen – I read a review of this on Ellie’s blog and it sounds right up my alley – I love medical thrillers (now there’s a surprise)!

3. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – I’ve gained a strange obsession with dystopians and this one sounds awesome.

4. Perfume by Patrick Suskind – Years ago a friend told me about the movie and I found it very gruesome, but I’m quite excited to read it now.

5. The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddharta Mukherjee – suggested to me by Ellie and Solitary for the 2012 challenge I am attempting. I hate cancer (it has taken many people from me) and I actually hate learning about it too. But I think this will be a remarkably important read for my career.

6. Feed by Mira Grant – also for the 2012 challenge and also a medical thriller, yay!

7. Room by Emma Donoghue – I’ve heard many great things about this one…

8. Divergent by Veronica Roth – It won the best book of 2011 by Goodreads, so it has to be good.

9. Snow Flower by Lisa See – this was reviewed on The Broke and the Bookish and since it takes place in Hunan, the Chinese province I visited in 2011, I feel I must read it.

10. Luna by Julie Anne Peters – This sounds like an awesome social commentary.

20 thoughts on “TTT: 2012 Reading Prospects

  1. I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on the Emperor of All Maladies. It was a really fast and easy read for me, and it was amazing to see how quickly and dramatically our ability to treat cancer has changed over the past few decades. It gives me a lot of hope that we’ll make huge progress over the course of my career, although the affordability of new therapies may limit this progress.

    I’m impressed that you’re managing to find so much time to read. I can only think back to three books that I read in the past year (other than chapters from Harrison’s and other medical textbooks). Maybe when I go on vacation in a few months.

    • Thanks! I’ve just figured out that reading makes me a lot more HAPPY. And it does a lot for my thought processes. So I’m including it in my list of wellness-issues and hoping I can manage to make more time for it.
      If I have to cut down on my infamous naps, so be it.

  2. I started the Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and kept thinking how well-written it was, but then I put it down and didn’t pick it back up again. It’s one of like nine books I have going right now that I haven’t really gotten into yet. Room is amazing. And a quick read. One of my girls read the entire Uglies series and loved them. A couple of them are on the lending shelf at work so let me know if you need them!

    • I just finished it yesterday, it takes forEVER to get into. Worth the read, but a little annoying.
      Thanks for stopping by! Would have loved to borrow some, but I think the distance between South Africa and you might be a bit far. :)

  3. Uglies, Perfume, and FEED are all AMAZING though for different reasons. Perfume can be rather graphic at parts, though, but the story is crafted so brilliantly.

    FEED is another book that’s done really well. It’s this incredibly dry read but in the most amazing way possible.

    Good luck with reading all these books and happy reading in the new year!

  4. I really like this list. Someone at work has been bugging me to read Girl with the Dragon Tattoo forever. I just dont know if it will live up to the hype.

    I enjoyed Uglies when I read it. I’ve always wated to read the others the follow but things happen and I forget.

    I’m thinking about reading Divergent for that reason too.

    I did a book to movie compare of Perfume a bit ago. If you wanted you should check it out after you read the book and see if aligns with your perception. I am thinking about doing one for Snow Flower (since I just got the DVD at the library). From what I have heard I dont think it will be a contest.

    Since I’ve been to China (non Hunan unfortunately) I have had a greater connection and respect for Chinese books. Lisa See does them well too. Hopefully you like it!

    Great list!

    Julia @ The Broke and the Bookish

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

