Antibiotics: So Now What?

Standard

Reuters reports that antibiotics are not useful for most sinus infections. Excessive prescription of antibiotics has lead to large-scale resistant organisms.

Okay, this I know.

But now what? Antibiotics make patients feel better. A frequent sufferer of sinusitis, I know this. So now my patients walk away from a consultation feeling that their doctor doesn’t care about their suffering. I don’t see many doctors being happy with that.

Secondly, complications of untreated bacterial sinusitis are sever. Think meningitis, abscess formation, cellulitis. What if that happens because I didn’t prescribe antibiotics?

The logical solution seems to be taking a swab. But state healthcare simply cannot afford to process a swab for every sinus infection. Even my own medical aid can’t afford that.

So I ask again: NOW WHAT?

One thought on “Antibiotics: So Now What?

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

