TTT: Top Ten Book Covers

Standard

After giving us some really tough questions the past few weeks, The Broke and the Bookish have graced us with a straightforward (but fun) topic this week: Top Ten Book Covers of all time. Since I don’t really stick t o one genre, I won’t be narrowing it down any further.

I’m not a particularly artsy person, but I like to think that I can appreciate a good piece of work, as opposed to a run-of-the-mill, shallow piece of so-called art.

Animorphs Series by K.A. Applegate – these covers enthralled my budding little mind. I was fascinated by the morphs, and the really good quality books had a “second cover” with the full picture of the entire animal.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer – I didn’t even read the blurb, it was shiny and gold and I loved it. All that glitters is not gold – but sometimes it is. By the way, check out Sylvia’s drawing of the elf child!

Feed by Mira Grant – this cover is excellent because it provides a pun to the novel even before you start reading: the blog feed, vs. what zombies do. I like it.

Unwind by Neal Shusterman – I haven’t even read this one yet, but the cover intrigued me, and I can tell that it fits with the blurb: Identity, the right to life. The fingerprint effect, merging into obscurity, is just wonderful.

The Illustrated Mum by Jacqueline Wilson – I really enjoyed Wilson when I was a little girl, and while reading this book I kept looking back at the cover to discover what each picture meant.

Three Letter Plague by Jonny Steinberg – The design of this specific cover is awesome. Since the book focuses so much on the youth’s perceptions of HIV, it is very fitting. I didn’t like the other cover too much because it was a bit stigmatising.

Yes, I am! Writing by South African Gay Men – I just love the many subtleties in this cover. You have to read it to understand it.

The Brain that Changes Itself by Norman Doidge – I like this one because scientific books often have the most boring covers, and this cover is just lovely and inspirational and gives a lot of credit to the regenerative abilities of the brain.

Room by Emma Donoghue – Again a book I am yet to read, but just looking at it makes me broody and protective over the little child.

Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyers – I didn’t enjoy the books too much (not at all, actually), but every time I see to covers I have to resist purchasing the books. I love a series that sticks to a theme for its covers, and these covers are spellbinding.

So there you have it! I do think that there is much room for improvement when it comes to covers – how about you?

6 thoughts on “TTT: Top Ten Book Covers

  1. I agree about Twilight’s and The Room’s covers, very intriguing. And Animorphs! I completely forgot about these covers until your post – I marveled over them as a child.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

