TTT: Books to Movies

Standard

Today’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is a little counter-intuitive for me. My first love was, and will always be, books. I always watch movies based on books, but I am more often than not disappointed. It’s great that non-readers get to enjoy these stories too, but often they don’t get the deeper meaning of the characters or the storyline. But it is an honour for the author, so here goes my top ten books I’d like to see made into a movie.

1. A Game Called Survival by Ian Douglas Reid – The story of Betty Di San Marzano and her children in Italy is a stunning tale of an American-born woman married to an Italian soldier. When Italy enters World War II against the allies, Betty’s husband joins the partisan forces. Soon, Betty and her children must flee for their lives.

I loved this biography. It’s thrilling and I have never read another book about WWII quite like it. If made into a movie, it would be a fresh look at events during WWII not well known.

2. Amazon Adventure by Willard Price – Hal and Roger are the sons of a famous naturalist. They travel to the Amazon with him to discover little-known animal species and encounter all sorts of adventure – including human deception – along the way.

Price wrote an entire Adventure series, of which this was the first. It was thrilling, and although slightly old I think it will make a stunning movie for all ages.

3. Shades by Marguerite Poland – We’ve seen now that historical romance novels can be made into breathtaking movies. This novel, set in late 19th century Eastern Cape, South Africa, can be similarly breathtaking. It’s historic value is immense, the romance unique, the insight priceless. The tragedy a final ingredient.

4. The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix – I can’t actually believe that this magical fantasy adventure has not been turned into a film. It has everything it needs to succeed with the current audience: a brave and stubborn heroine, a dashing though somewhat confused hero, talking animals, lurking evil and fantastical magic. And she is most certainly a hawt BAMF!

This image by Amanda Bills (c) 2011

5. Luna by Julie Anne Peters – I just recently read this book about a transsexual teenager and wrote a review about it for YJI here. It’s a lovely, relevant story – and it’s clean and appropriate for all ages. It would be an excellent contribution to society.

6. The BFG by Roald Dahl – Matilda and Charlie & the Chocolate Factory made excellent big screen hits and I think The BFG will be another lovable success. I would want it to be fully animated in the classic Disney style, not digitally animated. Quentin Blake is still alive, I’m sure he’d love to assist with the animation!

7. Shade’s Children by Garth Nix – an excellent dystopian/sci-fi novel with the appropriate fear and childhood bravery. Everyone would love this.

8. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins – yeah, I’m not a huge fan of chick-flicks, but this one is funny, sweet, in freaking Paris with lots of wonderful accents… yeah, I’d watch it.

9. A Dry White Season by Andre P. Brink – set in Apartheid South Africa, this novel views the darkest time in the country in the eyes of a white man who has been kept conveniently ignorant by his government. It illustrates how, through the use of censorship and intimidation, the government ensured that white South Africans would not know of the atrocities taking place right under their nose.

South African film is slowly improving and we have had a few good films about Apartheid. But white South Africans still carry the guilt of crimes committed by a government who went above their heads. This story shows a horrific side of the story rarely told – and it would translate well on film.

10. The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson (or any of Wilson’s books) – these are lovely, realistic, down-to-earth books for tweens and would translate well to the big screen, be it animation or not. I think parents would also enjoy it.

P.S: I would have put Obsidian (Jennifer Armentrout), The Hobbit (Tolkien) and Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins), but as far as I know those are all already in various stages of production.

17 thoughts on “TTT: Books to Movies

  1. I think just about any Dahl book would make a great movie, but the BFG is a GREAT choice :)

    As for Anna? I’m so worried they’d butcher it, I’ll keep St Clair in my head.

    Check out my Top Ten / Teaser Tuesday!

    • Oh, you make a good point about St Clair… mh… they’d probably end up botching his lines…
      And I agree, there should be a project aiming for a movie of each Dahl book. How cool would that be?
      Thanks for visiting!

    • I agree! I’m not inclined to let go of the St. Clair that I’ve built up in my mind.

  2. just finished Anna and the French Kiss and loved it! i was surprised too because i thought it would be cheesy. it would be a good movie!

  3. I completely agree with Abhorsen triology – although I’m always apprehensive of books I like being turned into films…
    I think there is an animated film of the BFG – quite an old one though.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

