Book Review: Orchid

Standard

As a rule, I do not review non-medical books on this blog, unless it forms part of a Top Ten Tuesday. However, since my recent discovery of the myriad of book blogs, Goodreads and the ability to read while maintaining my schedule has led to me rather bravely attempting a bookish challenge, I have decided to blog about those books.

For the Graphic Novel and Manga category I read Orchid Volume 1 by Tom Morello.

I don’t think I’ve read “graphic novels” since Asterix and Obelix or TinTin – if they even count for this category.

“When the seas rose, genetic codes were smashed… The human settlements that remain are ringed by THE WILD, a dense, uncharted wilderness from which ferocious new animal species emerge to pray on the helpless… The high ground belongs to the rich and powerful… Iron-fisted rule ensures order with pitiless cruelty and allows the wealthy to harvest the poor as slaves.”

In the midst of this there is a floundering rebellion headed by a flawed and bookish hero, and Orchid,  a young girl forced to trade as a street-prostitute unwittingly becomes involved in what appears to be a losing fight.

Like I said, I haven’t read graphic novels in a while. It was a challenge, not only because I had to read it on my computer.

It’s also weird not having to imagine things – instead the graphics are right there in front of you.

The artwork for this novel is – in my very limited opinion – exceptional. I love the characterisation, the expressions, and the creativity used with scene-setting. The novel is action-packed, but also gives a new meaning to “graphic” – it is graphic and I wouldn’t suggest it for sensitive viewers, especially in terms of violent scenes. There is also some crude language usage, but definitely fitting in context of the story.

I would have liked some more analysis of the “mask”, the rebellion, the rich and powerful, and the smashed genetic codes. But I think that philosophy is not really the mandate of a graphic novel, so perhaps it would be unfair to allow that to detract from the enjoyment of this read.

I love that it opens the floor for debate regarding classism and slavery and the degradation of society – kind of like a modern, global Lord of the Flies. I’d actually love being able to discuss this in a book club or a class. It’s not something to be kept selfishly to yourself.

I give it a rating of 4/5, and would love to read Volume 2 when it becomes available.

Disclosure: I received this from the publisher via NetGalley.

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Orchid

  1. Pingback: TTT: Creme de la Creme « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday and a “Deadlands” Review « Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  3. Dear Blogger,

    Firecracker believes that your potential is limitless and we’re here to unleash it!

    I am reaching out to select medical student bloggers to present them with a free offer to utilize the Firecracker online learning platform.
    For med students who are tired of forgetting what they hear in class or read in books like First Aid, Firecracker’s adaptive learning platform helps us remember the high-yield facts we need for USMLE Step 1. Just as the popular personal finance website Mint.com keeps track of our money and how we use it, Firecracker keeps track of what we know and how well we know it.

    Firecracker then combines world-class content covering all basic sciences and organ systems (including hundreds of USMLE-like questions), proven cognitive science and unparalleled insight into the performance of our peers to make sure we study the right material in the right way at the right time.

    This approach helps us not only remember what we’ve learned, but also deepen, integrate and (when we’re ready) practice applying our knowledge to USMLE-like questions. Thousands of students have used Firecracker to ace Step 1 with many reporting scores above 260. Unleash your potential at:
    http://www.firecracker.me

    We would like to give you free access for 3 months. If you like the product, then we just request that you help get the word out. In fact, if you use the product we can also offer your blog readers 2 months of access for free.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Omar Baig
    Firecracker
    16180 Alum Rock Avenue
    San Jose, CA 95137
    (408) 802-5267 Cell

  4. Pingback: Wrap-it-up: The 2012 Mixing It Up Challenge | Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

  5. Pingback: My First Manga (and Review) | Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

