Eight Million Mosquitoes Can’t Be Wrong

Standard

Today is World Blood Donor Day. I’ll be the first to lament that every day is international some-or-other day, and that one should be aware of whatever-we-commemorate everyday, but in my profession blood is worth more than gold.

I’ve seen patients with severe anaemias improve dramatically after receiving blood. And I saw a patient die because no blood was available for her (admittedly because she had too many strange antibodies in her blood).

Me? I’ve donated once. Had a severe hypotensive episode and freaked everyone out. I’m not afraid of blood (DUH), but ever since then it’s always been my weight or my HB or something the matter. I’ll manage eventually, I’m sure. When I was little, I begged the nurses to let me donate when my mom donated. They laughed.

Anycase, if you are able to do so, please consider donating blood today. Or tomorrow. Or next week.

And if you can’t, do as I do: bully your family and friends into donating.

Here are some of my favourite posters to inspire you:

This year’s theme is actually Every Blood Donor is a Hero, but I don’t like the WHO’s posters quite as much as I like this one.

This campaign, by The Hardy Boys Advertising, won a Loerie Award. The posters focused on common excuses for not giving blood. I thought it was marvelous.

More great work from the SANBS campaign.

 Yes okay, I think the South African National Blood Service has some of the best marketing and I may well be biased. “If you think this is an emergency, imagine our predicament.” How much more tongue-in-cheek can you get? (South Africa has a perpetual shortage of blood.)

I like this one from Australia. A lot of posters focus on students it seems.

When I was little there were some excellent posters based on the hero-theme going around, but I haven’t managed to find any online.

Okay, I had to add this one. I think it’s a little corny and I don’t love the whole vampire fad, but I’ve gotta admit: giving blood has never looked this hot.

6 thoughts on “Eight Million Mosquitoes Can’t Be Wrong

  1. Geez, the blood bank posters in the Southern Hemisphere are WAAAAY better than the American fare, which is generally a giant red cross plus a hand-written scrawl of when the Bloodmobile will be in the neighborhood. We need to jazz up our approach. Thanks for the reminder btw…

    Stopped by from SITS and love the angle of your blog – your studies should never be the thing that limits where your mind goes!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement, I really appreciate it!

      We’ve had some horrid posters too, that were clearly done in a hurry, but fortunately that seems to happen less and less these days. Good advertising saves lives, literally :P

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

