Read-a-Thon in Term Time

Standard

Tomorrow I bid my holiday goodbye and start with Paediatrics. I love the kids, but here’s hoping the department and staff do not disappoint me this year.

Anyway, despite all of that I thought it well to join a read-a-thon. Maybe that’s stupid of me, but I figured I’d need something to cheer me up for the first few days back on campus.

Once Upon a Readathon is hosted by Lori at Pure Imagination, Angela at Reading Angel and Candace at Candace’s Book Blog.

The goal is to to read more books than is beyond your average number of books. Usually I can finish a book in anything between one and three days, depending on its length and my level of business. But during term time I take much longer, especially when I’m on a practical rotation. Usually about a week a book. It’s up early, go in for ward rounds and ward work, attend tutorials, go home, study, and collapse into bed. Or sometimes instead of collapsing in bed I sit around and waste time on the internet.

So instead of wasting time on the internet, I’ll be reading some.

1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery (464 pages, hardcover, large print)

I’ve been meaning to read this, because everyone participating in Top Ten Tuesdays can’t stop talking about it, so I feel like I’m the only kid not invited to some awesome party.

2. Slide by Jill Hathaway (250 pages)

I love the sound of this one because it’s a bit of paranormalcy mixed with mystery.

3. The Everafter by Amy Huntley (248 pages)

This sounds like a bit of philosophy disguised as YA. I put it as #3 deliberately, because I highly doubt I’ll actually get to it, because I’m not looking at an awful lot of reading time in between work, but oh well.

4 thoughts on “Read-a-Thon in Term Time

  1. I love the name of that read-a-thon and Anne of Green Gables sounds the perfect read for it. I hope you find time to read in all your busyness and you enjoy your read-a-thon. I’ve never done one of these because I’m so nasty when I don’t get enough sleep and reading all day will make my eyes go mad. : )

    • I love sleeping too! But I don’t get enough of it in anycase, so I might as well deal with it.
      As for my eyes – I think they were accidentally not innervated, because I can go for days with contact lenses and not get a little scratchy. Then again, I don’t feel needles either, so maybe I’m just weird ;)
      Thanks for the visit :)

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

