TTT: “Don’t You Remember?” and an OUreadathon Update

Standard

Books have always had a massive influence on my life, and I sometimes wonder if I hated my first three years of university so much because I forgot to read.

In truth, I have difficulty understanding how people could not enjoy reading, but… I try my best not to be judgmental. Because I am full of sentiment, I decided to use this week’s TTT freebie with The Broke and the Bookish to reminisce on my Top Ten Bookish Memories.

The gargantuan machine Dad (that’s him) needed to enlarge script such that he could read it. The machines these days are a lot more slim and pretty.

1. Sitting on Dad’s lap in front of his assisted-reading device while he read to me from my children’s Bible. I also remember the day he bought it for me, I was very excited.

2. Mom teaching me the words to Spots, Feathers and Curly Tails by Nancy Tafuri and me proudly “reading” the book to anyone who was in the vicinity.

* I maintain that #1 and #2 contribute to the reason I could read by the age of 4 – a combination of following the enlarged script as dad read and of reciting the same words over and over.

3. Shortly after we moved into our current house 16 years ago, Mom took me to library. She showed me Roald Dahl’s Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. That was the beginning of a lifelong Dahl-romance

4. In my first week of Grade 2, I went to my school’s library. My mom had asked one of the Grade 7-librarians to help me find a book; who brought me a large-print picture book with one sentence per page. I was disgusted and took out The Arabian Nights instead (which turned out much more difficult than it appeared, but finish it I did!).

5. Reading Kringe in ‘n Bos (Circles in a Forest) by Dalene Matthee in Grade 3. My teacher made a big fuss about it, and I never really understood why until I heard that it was prescribed reading for students in Grade 11-12.

* I should probably re-read #4 and #5, eh? It’s been a long long time since I read them.

6. Being shouted at by primary school teachers for reading while lining up after breaktime. I never did understand that. I wasn’t talking, I wasn’t causing trouble. Surely teachers should be happy that I was reading? The same teachers told me to stop talking about books. What, you’d rather I talk about Barbie dolls?

7. Discovering Harry Potter books in 2001. My good friend received them for her birthday and insisted I would enjoy them. I refused to denounce them when a while later, super-religious people declared it to be “evil”. My friendship with the girl kind of faded when she moved to Australia, but I’ll always associate HP with her.

8. The 2km walk to the library: Whenever I got home from school I would change out of my uniform and run or cycle to the library. I was there so regularly that the librarians knew me by name, allowed my scruffy dog in the library and gave me birthday presents.

9. Reading visits with my gran: On miserable days, we would plonk down on the couches with a book each. Except for reading memorable excerpts aloud, we would hardly speak for hours. But those reading sessions brought us so close together.

10. My high school teachers turning a blind eye to my reading in class, knowing that I would get pristine marks regardless. I was a bit of an annoyance to my classmates in this way, I think.

11. Mom hiding books considered too adult from me, because she knew I read anything I could get my hands on.

Now, for an update on Once-upon-a-Readathon:

For Day 1 I have managed to finish Slide. What a great book! I’m pleasantly surprised that the author could fit so much emotion and suspense in a single book. I like the touch of medicine in it,too.

I’ve also read 130 pages of Anne of Green Gables. Taking into account that I was in hospital from 08:00 to 16:00 and did some studying too (do those pages count?), I’ve read up a storm.

It was fun.

Before I sign off for the day, I’m answering two quick questions as part of a #OUreadathon mini-challenge, hosted at I B Book Blogging.

  1. My favorite cover reveal for this season is The Violet Fox   by Clare C. Marshall – it looks lovely, and apparently the runes at the sides were made from scratch. I love a cover that’s been made with love.
  2. My book choices aren’t influenced by covers so much as the inside flap or back cover. I’m hugely influenced by a book’s blurp! Although a good cover will definitely attract my attention, I won’t read it if the synopsis sounds silly.
32 thoughts on “TTT: “Don’t You Remember?” and an OUreadathon Update

  1. I was yelled at for reading by my teachers as well … until they realized that, like you, I was still getting great marks. I think they were just desperate for people to respond so called on me for something to say :-)
    Also – I agree that the blurb inside the covers is much more important to me than the actual cover! I hate it when a book has a bad write-up :-(

  2. I have some early reading memories, one of which was taking a reading test. We moved when I was about to turn six, which meant a change of school. If memory serves (it was a LONG time ago), the class I was supposed to go to was full, but they had space in the year above. The reading test, as I recall, was to qualify me to go into the class a year above and stay for two years so I would catch up with my age group. The test consisted of a card with 13 or 14 sentences on it, getting progressively more difficult. I was to read as many as I could. I got to the end of the card, or very close to, so they let me in. :)

  3. Great reading memories! I think all of us have some moments like the ones you listed. Discovering HP will always be a memorable moment for me too.

    I also hate when a blurb is terrible or even worse when a book doesn’t even a synopsis on the back or inside cover. Now that’s frustrating.

    Here’s mine

    ~Danica Page
    P.S. If you stop by be sure to check out my giveaway for any book under $15.

  4. Great list! I was actually the kid that never wanted to read growing up. I did have parents who loved books and would try everything to get me to read but I am a stubborn soul. I might have found a love of reading later but I still have found memories of others sharing this love of reading with me at a young age. Excellent idea.

  5. Love it! Sounds weirdly similar to my own childhood! I have such great memories of being read to as a child and learning to read early (and flaunting it with anyone who would listen like you did). Bookish people are the best :)

  6. Aww, I love this post because it just made me think of all the early bookish memories I have. My dad never read to me, but my mom used to tell me stories that were told to her, orally. She was also the one who taught me to read, though I didn’t actually read books until the First Grade (other than Dr. Suess, the Madeline books and an illustration of Miss Lucy Had a Baby were the first books I was able to read by myself). I have so many memories with Roald Dahl too, and of course, discovering the Harry Potter books (also in 2001) is one of the most special memories I have today (because I still reread them every year – they mean that much to me).

    Great post! (It made me so sentimental!)

    • Thank you! I have never re-read anything, but I think I should read HP again. My dad also told me many stories, because reading is very difficult for him. I’m glad to hear that this post meant something to you :)

      • (:

        Oh, definitely reread HP. It’s not the same experience as reading the books for the first time, but it’s interesting because JK Rowling’s story is so well-plotted that you’re bound to notice things you didn’t when you read them before. (You also notice just HOW well-plotted it is. I didn’t realize that she foreshadowed the later books so well in the earlier ones that you don’t even realize it’s foreshadowing when it happens.) I actually reread Harry Potter all the time. Because I love it that much, and because it’s become tradition.

  7. Beautiful post. I love your bookish memories. It’s made me think about some of my own and remember how much certain books remind me of people I have loved.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

