Bout-of-Books: Because I like reading, k?

Standard

For those of you who read my posts for the medical stuff-and-stuff, I’m sorry, but I like the reading thing… and my university has gracefully given me a day off study day, so it seemed appropriate.

Next week I’ll be participating in Bout of Books v.05. What is BoB, you ask? It is a week-long read-a-thon “usually from 12:01am on a Monday through 11:59pm on a Sunday in whatever time zone you are in”. It is low pressure, so participants are asked to set goals in order to read more than they usually do, and that’s about it. There are challenges too, and a grand prize (which is a blog re-design, how cool?).

Cool thing is: I’m on a four week theory block and next week is only the second week. So I think I can do it. Yay. 

Books I aim to read:

  1. Dracula by Bram Stoker (I’ve actually already started this one for the Coursera Fantasy and Science Fiction course, but I think I’ll only finish it on Monday)
  2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (unit 4 of FantasySF)
  3. The Day of First Sun by Sheryl Steines
  4. She Wulf by Sheryl Steines (#3 and #4 are for the Novel Publicity blog tour coming soon)
  5. Hana by Lauren Oliver
  6. A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs (unit 5 of FantasySF)

I don’t know how far I will get with this list, but I’m hoping to finish at least up to and including #4. Four books is quite a lot to read during term-time (holidays would have been a whole other kettle of fish, but it is not summer everywhere in the world).

I’ll be posting updates mostly on twitter using the #boutofbooks tag. Peace :)

19 thoughts on “Bout-of-Books: Because I like reading, k?

  1. I might have to steal that jpg one of these days. And turn it into a wall sized poster…
    Also, loving the old-school portion of your list. You were going to have to read them anyway, right? Might as well read-a-thon them!

    • Exactly, I WAS going to have to read them anyway indeed :D
      As for the jpeg, oh yes. I’ve just been thinking about all the bookish posters I’ll be sticking in my reading room (when I have a reading room, one day).

    • Thank you, thank you :) To be honest, I don’t think I knew until a few weeks ago that Frankenstein and Dracula were first books. Or perhaps I just never thought about it that way. But in any case, these are the kind of books that I’d scarcely read if not with some motivation. An online course is motivation enough for me!

  2. Hello and hooray! So excited for another week’s RaT-ing, even if I might not get much read again! Six days at work, one day off, three house viewings… and a partridge in a pear tree. You get the idea. I haven’t done my post yet, I might get one up this evening or maybe first thing tomorrow. Oooh, and I loved FRANKENSTEIN, it was so thoughtful and sad yet deliciously melodramatic at the same time. Okay, this is the worst, most jumbled comment ever… this doesn’t bode well for my reviewing prowess today! Laters dude… :D

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

