TTT: Good Intentions, Bad Habits

Standard

After a short hiatus, I am joining up with Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish again. This week we discuss our top (or should I say bottom) ten bookish confessions.

I’m not really into the whole “must-feel-guilty-about-something” way of life, so I wasn’t 100% sure if this list would really accomplish anything, but here goes.

1. I told the librarian it wasn’t me – well, it wasn’t me who coloured the pages of the library books, it was my then-baby brother… but I was scared of being shouted at (I was only eight years old) and told her that the books were like that before I took them out.

2. I don’t like old books – these days it seems all the cool bookworms like the smell of an old book… but it makes me sneeze and gives my fingers this dry feeling like writing on a blackboard all day. I love the LOOK of an old book, but the smell… not.

3. I read in the dark and I’m sure that’s partly to blame for my broken eyes. You know the typical little girl reading by flashlight under the covers? I did that. Even these days I sometimes read by moonlight. It feels romantic and stuff, okay?

4. I have never read any Jane Austen – she is on my TBR list just about every year and I keep promising I’ll read her. But my innate fears of verbosity and failed expectations deter me.

5. Nor have I read The Great Gatsby, Catcher in the Rye, The Picture of Dorian Grey… I know I should. I have at least recently read Dracula and Frankenstein, so I’m getting there.

6. I quote from books I haven’t read – this feels like fraud, but sometimes in a heated debate I just can’t help the odd Gatsby reference.

7. I found Anne of Green Gables to be a little boring – it was not part of my childhood, but the blogging community waxes lyrical about the girl, so I finally read it earlier this semester. It was cute… but not all that. I suppose it really is a children’s novel, so I’ll still read it to my kids one day.

8. I don’t write or underline in books – I always think it’s so cool to read somebody’s annotations, and that it would make my reading more insightful if I underlined/highlighted etc. Yet I don’t do it. I think I’m lazy, or afraid that I’ll reveal my own ignorance. And I like a clean book.

9. Sometimes I’m a judge-y hypocrite – I like to believe that I’m a nice, non-judgmental person, but sometimes I catch myself seeing someone reading a comic book, or a steamy trashy novel and I can actually feel my nose turning skywards. This in spite of the fact that I am not exactly the most cultured reader myself. I do manage to check myself. I do not like being judgmental!

10. I’m a sucker for freebies. I’m a poor student, ‘kay? I love ARCs (although I never ever ask for them, so they come along in drips and drabs) and the library is my castle. Speaking of which, can somebody explain to me why libraries are good but piracy is bad? I totally get that piracy is evil, but since libraries allow a single copy to be read by hundreds, don’t they inherently “steal” from authors as well?

33 thoughts on “TTT: Good Intentions, Bad Habits

  1. Your blog inspires me a lot in many ways..!! I really wonder how find time to write a beautiful blogs above all TTT and go to medical school??? And I really amaze at your consistency..!! :)

  2. What an interesting question y ask at #10! It had never occurred to me. I hope someone has a good answer for this one. :)

    I hardly make any markings in my books but if I do I use an incredibly light pencil, note it all down in a notebook once I’m done reading and then erase the pencil marks….I like a clean book too. :D

    • I think sentiment plays a massive role in the books people enjoy. I only read Anne recently, and the same with the Hobbit. People who read it as little children loved it. Makes me wonder if I’d be such a Dahl-fanatic if I only discovered him as a teenager?

  3. I THINK a partial answer to question #10 is that libraries do initially purchase the books, and the people who check them out can’t KEEP them. If they want to keep them, they need to purchase their own copy. So it’s the equivalent of loaning a book to a friend, and if they like it, they get their own. Also, libraries have to buy more/replacement copies of popular books, because they get worn out from multiple readings. So the more popular a book is, the more copies they buy, thus royalties for the author. If a book is pirated, the author gets nothing no matter how popular it is.

    I’m no expert, but that’s my understanding.

    Anne of Green Gables WAS my childhood. But actually, the movie more than the book. I adore it to this day.

    However, feel free to skip Gatsby, and just watch the Jane Austen movies. My favorites are Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice (the Kiera Knightly one, because the Colin Firth one is just so long.

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • Thanks for the answer, it does make sense. In a way the author still doesn’t get as many royalties as if everyone had gone out to buy the book, but then again some people (including myself) simply can’t afford books. If I had to buy every book I’ve read, I’d probably not be a bookworm. I’ll try watching Sense and Sensibility – adore Knightly!

  4. I haven’t read The Catcher in the Rye yet either, and I had no idea it was such a popular classic until I moved to Canada, cos everyone – EVERYONE – in Canada and the US reads it at school (and usually love it!). Which, because I’m stubborn, made me want to dig in my heels and refuse to read it! Until my sister read it, randomly, and loved it and said I must read it, so I got a tattered secondhand copy.

    Totally with you on Anne of Green Gables. I read it when I was about 14 and had to really force myself to get through it. But I love a lot of Montgomery’s other books.

    I’m impressed you can quote from books you haven’t read – I can’t even quote from ones I’ve read multiple times! I have a terrible memory for things like that, you should hear me try and tell a joke or an anecdote, it’s FAIL all the way!!

    • Ah that’s funny – I don’t think I necessarily get quotes right all the time either, oops!
      As for Catcher… a LOT of people here read it for school as well, but my school elected to do Shades by Marguerite Poland instead. The year after I left school they started reading Gatsby. Oh well.

  5. I also love reading under moonlight! Once I kept on reading for so long I could just continue with the rising sunlight XD I also quote from books I haven’t read or movies I haven’t watched, just because they become part of your speech so easily! Thanks for sharing :)
    My Confessions
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  6. I have read THE GREAT GATSBY (only just this month, though) and THE PICTURE OF DORIAN GREY. But I’m not boasting. My list of classics-I’ve-never-read-and-should-have-read-by-now is probably longer than my TBR list! And I know I catch myself on the judgy-hypocrite thing too. I have to remember that even those novels I’m tempted to look down on had to go through the whole agent/editor process, so they have to rise above the slush pile in their genre to get published. In other words, they may not be what I would choose to read, but that doesn’t mean they’re badly written. Necessarily. :)

  7. I also am not a big fan of the Anne of Green Gables series–I found it to be, in a word, boring. I did, however, *love* her Emily trilogy. Maybe you should give that a try! It starts with Emily of New Moon, then Emily Climbs, and then finally Emily’s Quest. LOVE that series, love it!

  8. I read in the dark too… Also an explanation for my terrible vision! I also haven’t read the books you listed in number 5 and quote from books I haven’t read (just because the book hasn’t been read doesn’t mean it is not quotable).
    I do like old books… And new books… And in between books!

  9. lol, oh my about #1! (pretty sure I did that on one occasion with my brother way back when–non-book-related thought xD)

    ARCs are fun, though yeah, I’ve never actively asked for any so I also get them on occasion. Good point about #10 too

    Thanks for dropping by my blog yesterday!

  10. I can’t not mark up the really good books that I read. Sometimes, I feel I put more into the book that way, and can pick up where I was if I ever choose to re-read it…

  11. I have read Jane Austen, but it didn’t really add anything to my life… rather, Sense and Sensibility robbed me of a weekend that could have been better spent… (-.-) However, the Keira Knightley movie is BRILLIANT. I read the book and was bored out of my skull; I watched the movie with EXACTLY THE SAME CONVERSATION and was mindblown. Do yourself a ginormous favour and watch that movie.

    When I read Catcher in the Rye, I was kind of…confused. I don’t know, it didn’t captivate me – and yet a friend of mine loved it and can’t stop rereading it because it’s “so random, and he just says what he feels”. Hey, something for everyone, I guess :)

    I was really irritated when I read Gatsby for the first time (remember getting your setwork books for the next school year just before the December holidays? Paradiiiise :D) because the characters really, reeaaally annoyed me. But then, le English Teacher of Destiny read it to us in class, and with each lesson it was like a kind of magic, actually hearing the words and the beauty of the narration :) I’ve reread the book so many times now.

    I get all judgey too….which is sad, cos I’m always saying how I dislike hypocrites. But then, I guess the greatest form of self-improvement is realising that you yourself are the world’s worst hypocrite and that you need to fix that.

    Finally – FREEBIEEEESSS :D :D :D There was recently an IT convention at our varsity – meaning GOOGLE :D and various other companies… I went around collecting things for daaays. Including a Google pen. And a Google badge. And…yeahokayimmastopnow XD

    • Oh dude, I so miss the English teacher(s) of destiny and the way they influenced my appreciation for literature! I’m now reading Pride and Prejudice because it seems like the right thing to do, and it’s actually not that bad. Although I don’t know if I’ll read any of Austen’s other works, since a lot of people only seemed to enjoy P&P.
      I must definitely find this famed Keira Knightley movie though!
      Thanks for visiting kiddo :)

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

