TTT: Spring has Sprung!

Standard

As always, my seasons are a little opposite than Top Ten Tuesday at The Broke and the Bookish. That doesn’t really matter though, because the season rarely if ever influences what I read. [Is that normal?]

I’ve been doing relatively well with my TBRs. I’ve read 50 books so far this year… and I thought I might only be able to read 20. Here are the books I hope to read this Fall Autumn Spring.

1. The Moon, Come to Earth: Dispatches from Lisbon by Philip Graham – this will be for the travel category in the Mix-it-Up Challenge. I got it for free from the University of Chicago Press.

2. The God Delusion by Richard Dawkins – for the Social Sciences and Philosophy section of the same challenge. I’m religious, but I plan to read this in any case. I believe in viewing all angles of a matter.

3. Spud : Exit, Pursued by a Bear by John van de Ruit – the fourth and final book in the Spud series, and possibly one of the best written works for young people to come from South Africa in recent years. I’m looking forward to following the young Spud through his final school year.

4. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury – this is for the Coursera Fantasy and Science Fiction course. I missed two units due to medschool obligations, so I’m out of the running for a certificate of completion, but that’s okay. I still enjoy learning, reading and writing in this course.

5. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare – loved the first two in the series, and I’ve been meaning to get to this book!

6. The Book of Paul by Richard Long – I’m reviewing this sometimes soon for a book tour. It sounds super awesome, like historical supernatural thrillers. It sounds a little like Dan Brown – I’ll have to see.

7. Doomed Love by Virgil – Book 1 in the Penguin Great Loves box set. I like starting at the beginning. I predict, however, that I will struggle to get into it.

8. The Call of the Wild by Jack London – a book in the Puffin Classics Deluxe collection. I think it’s meant to be a children’s book, but who cares.

9. Defining Moments by Marius Barnard – I feel like I should read this before the end of my fourth year. Perhaps it will inspire me.

10. Medical Textbooks (Kumar and Clarke, Dermatology, Anaesthesia)… unfortunately, Spring brings year-end exams. And they must take top priority. I cannot afford a January rewrite… not if I want to go on Semester at Sea!

19 thoughts on “TTT: Spring has Sprung!

    • It does sound wonderful doesn’t it? You should totally join. It is probably the most diverse study abroad opportunity I have heard of, ever. And for those who are no longer at university, there is the “lifelong learner” option. It’s awesome.

  1. I have CITY OF BONES on my iPad. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ll get to it someday… soon! I don’t know if you know this, but Oxford theologian Alister McGrath (who has a science background, btw) wrote a response to Dawkins called THE DAWKINS DELUSION?: ATHEIST FUNDAMENTALISM AND THE DENIAL OF THE DIVINE. Provocative title! I haven’t read either work, but if you want to see both sides of the debate, this might be of interest to you.

    It’s easy for those of us in the Northern Hemisphere to forget that our friends “down south” are moving into their warm seasons. I hope you have an enjoyable Spring and Summer! :)

  2. I love the Puffin Classics editions. I haven’t read Call of the Wild either. The other one I want is Peter Pan. I have quite a few children’s classics on my TBR actually.

  3. Oh yes you need to read City of Glass! I’m a big Cassandra Clare fan. If you haven’t already read her Infernal Devices series you should! I like them better than The Mortal Instruments :)

  4. The Call of the Wild is so good! A classmate of mine read the Delusion of God when we were staying in an apartment together during a rural rotation last year. She said it was really well written and interesting. I keep meaning to pick it up to see what it is all about.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

