TTT: We are what our thoughts have made us

Standard

I had an unintended reading-hiatus in my first few years at university and when I started reading again, I realised how much my brain had stagnated. Books make you think in general, but some books really develop your thoughts and thought-processes. Today’s TTT with The Broke and the Bookish is about those books that force you to think, even if it’s uncomfortable or unusual. These books are in order from least-enjoyed to most enjoyed, not in order of best thinking.

1. I Kissed Dating Goodbye: A New Attitude Towards Relationships and Romance by Joshua Harris:

I don’t really agree with most of what this book says or it’s tone for that matter, but it forces you to consider your approach to romance and even just thinking through it is a worthy experience, despite reaching different conclusions.

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Again a book I did not enjoy overall, but stimulated much thought about science, ambition and family.

3. Bumped by Megan McCafferty

In light of many governments’ attempts to regulate reproduction or the right to reproduction, this is a fun and thoughtful read.

4. Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult

Made me think about the simple, down-to-earth lifestyle. It also made me realise that I’d make a pretty crap Amish.

5. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll

This book has a lot of imagery and symbolism. If you are the literary type who likes analysing a novel from every nook and cranny, you’ll love this more as an adult than as a kid. There are also some wonderfully odd situations that challenge convention, and some math problems too.

6. Digital Fortress by Dan Brown

Cryptography and mathematics in a thriller – this one made the cogs turn full-speed.

7. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

The current lack of organ donors features in this futuristic dystopian. Makes you think a lot about healthcare, politics and religious fanaticism.

8. Like the Flowing River by Paulo Coelho

It was between this one and The Prophet by Khalil Gibran – they’re both wonderfully philosophic and you can’t read them unless you’re going to focus wholeheartedly. I chose Coelho because this anthology of his is a little more applicable to the modern reader.

9. Rape Girl by Alina Klein

Todd Akin and friends need to read this book, hopefully it will make them use their noggins too. I’m super annoyed by all the misconceptions regarding rape.

10. The Road to Mecca by Athol Fugard

Makes you think of society’s incessant insistence to oust those who do not conform. Infuriating

13 thoughts on “TTT: We are what our thoughts have made us

  1. I read “I Kissed Dating Goodbye” when I was dating my husband (at his prompting, might I add). It was interesting. I don’t necessarily agree with it, but it did make you think.

  2. These sound really interesting, particularly the McCafferty given that I have Handmaid’s Tale on my list! I’ve read Frankenstein and Alice..but haven’t even heard of most of the others.

  3. I like that you included books that you didn’t particular like but made you think! Digital Fortress wasn’t bad… I didn’t like Deception Point much… Dan Brown definitely hit his mark with the Robert Langdon series, that’s for sure!

    Sorry it took me a bit to get to your TTT! Been a busy week! :P

    Michele | Top 10 | Giveaway

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

