Retina Burn [Trigger Warning]

Standard

I saw a woman jumping to her death.

She is a regular at medical emergency for suicide attempts or parasuicide (nobody seems to know). She always manages to run away before she is taken to the Psychiatry ward.┬áDid you know that women are less often successful at suicide attempts than men? It is because they tend to go for “softer” methods.

She locked herself in the bathroom. Everyone started freaking out. The security guards kicked the door from its hinges. They caught her by her arms as she was jumping from the window sill.

I cried. She is breathing, but I have never seen such lifeless eyes. I have never seen one who did not want to live quite that much. I wanted to be angry: here we were, trying to save lives in an overflowing hospital, and she was trying to take hers. I wanted to be angry. But I couldn’t.

She is alive. Her shoulders were dislocated from the force of being caught and dragged back inside, but otherwise she is physically unscathed. But I have never seen such hopelessness.

She is alive, and still I will never forget that image.

I don’t know what is wrong with the world, or perhaps it is this time of the year (Spring is such a beautiful time). This year I have seen too many of these cases, mostly overdoses. Let’s not wait for a National Suicide Prevention day or month or whatever. It’s not just the job of shrinks and psychiatrists to help.

I shudder at the thought of feeling that life is so horrible that you cannot continue. I can’t imagine of desolate one must feel.

As always, these striking secrets are from PostSecret. For old PostSecrets, click here.

6 thoughts on “Retina Burn [Trigger Warning]

  1. I too find it so difficult to imagine life being so bad you want it to end. It is heartbreaking no matter how young or how old. And it is tough to swallow in a hospital where so many people are fighting just to live. I agree, it is not just the job of the psychiatrists to help. These people need so much love and assistance to get back to a place of living.

  2. I can’t imagine how horrible it must have been to watch the events unfold, or how helpless you must have felt. I can understand the anger a little. I had a friend who was suicidal, and she’s getting better. But until she started to, it was so hard knowing that no matter what I said she wasn’t really listening. It was a horrible, helpless feeling, and I was angry at how little I felt I could actually do. I simply tried to talk to her when I could. I don’t know if that made the difference, but I like to think it helped. Unfortunately, few people actually get that help. And even more unfortunately, it’s likely you’ll come across many more cases like this during your time in the medical profession. :/

    • Thank you for your kind words. I do think that supporting your friend contributed to her recovery – every action has some effect, and even if it is just a drop in the ocean, it’s still a drop. I appreciate your empathy. I have to say, I do not look forward to seeing more of this, but I suppose it is part of the job…

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

