Top Ten Tuesday Freebie: Minor Characters

Standard

 

This week’s TTT with The Broke and the Bookish is the both dreaded and wonderful REWIND. Click here to see all the past topics used for previous TTTs. I chose Top Ten Minor Characters. It was a bit of a challenge because I hardly remember the names of major characters, never mind minor characters! I love them all, though, so I gave it a try.

1. Myra from Divergent by Veronica Roth

The Erudite-born girl who chooses Dauntless, but later chooses to leave the faction when her boyfriend is injured. She faces the realities of living factionless in order to do what is right. I’m not a fan of girls giving up their prospects to run after a boy, but this is a little different, don’t you think?

2. Rollins from Slide by Jill Hathaway

Vee’s best friend. He’s creative and gentle – he runs a cool magazine that he self-publishes, and he has his own terrible secrets to hide. I’m a little disappointed by his behaviour at the end of the novel, but I know he’ll rectify things.

3. Jake Tolan from Saving June by Hannah Harrington

Musician, dark unknown, kind of a bad boy who really does good things for Harper most of the time… yeah, he’s a good guy. I guess he’s a bit on the verge between major and minor, but whatever. And he makes mix CDs, guys!

4. Meredith from The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

Little Meredith makes my uterus tingly. She is sweet, and I just want to hug her and take her away from all the awfulness. Though I feel that taking care of Meredith kept Kaelyn going.

5. Magnus Bane from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Ah Magnus… I have a big girly crush on him. He’s so eccentric and essentially kindhearted. And he named his cat Chairman Meow! And I think he is good for Alec.

For once I prefer the cast actor (Godfrey Gao) to the fan art. The fan art of Magnus is a little annoying and superficial.

6. Octavia from The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

I guess I kind of liked Katniss’ prep-team from the start. They were sweet and naive and good allies. It just broke my hear when Posy asked Octavia if she was sick because of her green skin, and she whispered, “It’s supposed to be pretty…” I also think that even though the events of Mockingjay scarred her, she displayed strength of character.

7. Sim from Shade’s Children by Garth Nix

It’s been so long since I read this book, but I remember liking Sim for his stern care of the new children, and his sharp wit.

8. Lissa from Because of Lissa by Caroline Meyer

Lissa is the girl who kills herself unexpectedly and sets forth the events of this book, where her peers start a hotline for other suicidal teens. I suppose it’s not entirely PC to make her a favourite character, but I really felt for her and realised how much she must have meant to her friends.

9. Dylan from The Manny by Holly Peterson

Nevermind the fact that this book was beyond awesome, little Dylan, who yearns for a father figure and becomes quite attached to his new “manny”. I see a trend here of liking the vulnerable minor characters…

10. Isaac from The Fault in our Stars by John Green

I have a soft spot for brokenhearted Isaac who loses so much in one go. He is also wonderfully witty – I love his private eulogy (upon which I will not elaborate in the name of spoilers).

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Freebie: Minor Characters

  1. I agree with Magnus! He is just such a fun character! I’d totally want to be his friend in real life bc he’s fun and loyal. And I agree about the fan art stuff! :)

  2. Great list! To be honest I haven’t read any of these books though the Garth Nix series you mentioned sounds interesting; I love his work.

    OT but 1) I love the Despicable Me banner at the start of this entry. The animated gifs for this movie is so cute, I really need to watch it xP and 2) I like your new layout here! =)

    Thanks for dropping by my blog yesterday =)

  3. Nice list! I forgot about Octavia! That was a precious moment of a kid’s innocence (: I still can’t believe I forgot Magnus. I’ve seen him on a few lists and have mentally smacked myself upside the head every time. A few of your books are are on my TBR list so I’ll keep an eye out for characters!

    Feel free to give my TTT a look! (http://wp.me/p1Rf2y-4r)

    Maura

  4. Pingback: Bookish Superlatives | Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

