Ten Harry Potter Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island

Standard

I’m twisting today’s TTT topic in honour of Harry Potter Month! How’s that for killing two birds with one stone. These are the ten characters from the Harry Potter World that I would want with me on a deserted island. We assume that they don’t have broomsticks with them and that they can’t apparate from the island or transfigure into a sea creature to swim away… because that would just be too easy.

ten hp characters

1. Hermione Granger – mostly because I have a huge girl-crush on her and a deserted place is as good as any to get some intelligent girl-banter done. I will need to be able to talk books to SOMEONE if we’re going to be stuck on the island for a while.

By Zaelithe on Deviantart, click for source

2. Rubeus Hagrid – well, he’s the gamekeeper, so he obviously knows stuff about nature. And he has that massive coat with many pockets, which I’m sure has some useful things. Also, he’s big and strong, so I feel like there’s some protection there. And he’s a real sweetheart.

3. Mr Weasly – because he would put enchantments on random objects and that would be really fun to watch – and potentially useful.

4. Neville Longbottom – another sweetie, and also great at herbology, which might be quite useful on an island. I don’t want to eat poisonous berries or anything. Also, he’s not bad-looking…

By Ninjakitsune on Deviantart, click for source.

5. Luna Lovegood – for whimsical campfire stories at night.

6. Professor Trelawney – you know… it would be useful to have a bit of a timeline so that we can do our preparations. Or at the very least, to have someone who knows the constellations and can point them out to me at night. I’m sure the milkyway must look beautiful at night on an island far from civilisation.

7. Dobby the (Free) House Elf – he’s loyal and cute and… well, I want him there. He’s also a bit annoying at times, but… I think it’s okay.

8. Lee Jordan – because I love his wit!

9. Professor McGonagall – I’m not too sure how well she would do on an island to be honest, but this is more of a fangirling thing again. She’s a pretty strong leader too, which we’d need.

10. Newt Scamander – because imagine how awesome that would be?!

By Liminowl on Deviantart, click for source

You might have noticed that Harry and Ron are not on this list. Well, there are many reasons for that. For one, Harry tends to attract danger and I really don’t want any more of that on an already deserted island. For another, Hermione wouldn’t talk to me if they were there. And finally, if they aren’t there and Hermione is, they will be sure to find and rescue us all!

Also… I’m not very artsy, but I did a fan artsy thing in my Wreck This Journal. I am quite pleased with the way it turned out. And I do adore Harry, in case my above paragraph made you wonder!

16 thoughts on “Ten Harry Potter Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island

  1. I don’t know about Trelawney. She’ll just be predicting everyone’s death the whole time. Rather give me Madam Pomfrey (but then I’m not a medical professional ;-) ) And I’d take Seamus over Lee – blowing stuff up is much more entertaining than incessant banter, though with Luna there do you need more entertainment? I’d try to work Mrs Weasly in there as well – someone is needed to take care of this lot and I don’t reckon McGonagall is the mothering type. Otherwise a great list.

    • Oh, Pomfrey would be a good one, but does she know the constellations? I’m horrid with knowing which stars are where. I don’t care too much for her predictions :P Definitely Mrs Weasly though – I agree that McGonagall wouldn’t be the mothering type. Gosh, just give me a bigger island already :P

  2. Hermione’d be dead useful, as would Neville with his herbology knowledge, great picks. I love your Luna pick, that’d be awesome entertainment :D
    And OMG Newt! I want that now :D I already made him canon in my head haha :D
    Great picks!

  3. This is a great twist on the topic. I think I agree with the person who said Pomfrey over Trelawny. I mean, in her tenure at Hogwarts, she only made one true prediction, which brought her lifetime total up to two. She’s not really in tune with her ability. I’d definitely want someone who could heal all the weird bites I’d get and help me not be allergic to stuff. Great list!

  4. Oh, haha! You’re VERY clever to leave Ron and Harry off then. XD Good thinking. But come on…this is an awesome island you have right here. Do you really want to be rescued??!

  5. YAY! Someone who finally did what I really wanted to do but refrained from – a list that is just HP characters. I love Lee Jordan, that character also had me laughing in the books. Hermione is an amazing choice because she’s smart and will know the best spells to use. Plus, with all those witches and wizards you won’t need to be rescued – they’d know a lot of different ways to get you off the island :) Here’s my TTT.

  6. McGonagall (man that feels weird to type – I feel sorry for JK now) would not go well on an island. I reckon she would turn into a cat and not turn back until we were saved.

  7. *whew* I was glad for your explanation at the end there for why Harry (♥) and Ron were missing from this mix XD Anyways wonderful picks ^^ I would also like to fangirl with you about Hermione AND McGonagall! Hagrid, Mr Weasley and Neville are awesome picks too because they’re just so likeable and sweet! Luna of course, her whimsical nature is bound to rub off on us after awhile! LOVE your wreck the journal art too! Wow! (YAY Harry) haha

  8. I LOVE YOUR ART! That’s absolutely amazing :D. I love your reasonings for each character though. They’re really practical. I bet Hagrid’s coat would be lovely to snuggle up in too :). Excellent post!

    GO RAVENCLAW GO!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :) | Currently trying to survive final year. Responses to comments may be slow.

