Studying Medicine

Journal Flashback: 2009_03_30

I wrote this last year. It may well be one of the most honest journal entries I have ever done. Whether I still feel the same and my opinions on these facts, now… are inconsequential and a matter for another day:

A country requires many more doctors than there are people who have a calling to study for almost a decade and then work ungodly hours in a truly horrific setup.

And so you get the very sad fact that on medical campuses, a large percentage of students have half of their hearts elsewhere.

It is on medical campuses that you will find the largest conglomerate of potential actors, composers, lyricists, authors, statesmen, teachers, businessmen, psychologists, lawyers, beauticians, journalists and Olympic medallists.

Potential that will, ultimately, go to waste.

These young people, whether they admit it or not, would often much rather be elsewhere.

They are not called to be passionate medical professionals. No. Their calling is deeper and more painful than that. Their calling is to sever the bonds with their passions and walk – often blindly – into a profession of death, pain and sleeplessness. A profession that eventually becomes your life. A profession that has no exit.

Somebody needs to find the cure to AIDS. To Ebola. To cancer. To Huntington’s. Somebody needs to work in dirty, overcrowded hospitals. And those with the calling to do so… are simply not enough.

12 thoughts on “Journal Flashback: 2009_03_30”

    1. Hi there. I don’t know if I never saw your comment or what happened; but I’d like to thank you for stopping by last year (better late than never). Hope you will continue to visit. Keep well!

  1. Hi there! I’ve read a few of your posts and I really like them all. I know that you must be very busy working as a new intern (😁), but I am so confused about whether I should study medicine after reading your posts. Which is good, I guess, because it means you are making me think and reconsider! Would you mind if I ask a few questions?

  2. Hi, I’m really happy I read this post because it has just reminded me why I got into medicine which was to serve and be an agent of change in my community. I’m a first year medical student and as inexperienced as I am, I’m already feeling the heat and I haven’t been taking the course seriously because I would really much rather be in a Drama/Performance school because that’s where my other passion lies. It always confused me why other people are more motivated about the course and I really just couldn’t be bothered. It made me feel out of place and reiterated the fact that I shouldn’t be here. I’m going to take every day as it comes and be the best I can be because I really do believe that everything happens for a reason and I have a purpose to fulfil here and I must not back down now.

    1. Hi Siya, I loved hearing this! I’m so glad I could help in some way. Your passion for Drama and Performance should remain important to you, and you will find ways of using that to help you in medicine. Good luck, and I am certain you are going to be great. Keep up the strong work!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

