Another new beginning

Things have not been going very well of late.

Mostly it has just been my own personal issues that unfortuantely do have the ability to get me down and out.

Needless to say, the Musculo test on Friday was atrocious. Not only was the work difficult and volumous, but I could not concentrate or focus for the life of me. It had never before been that bad. Turns out the test was so difficult that even those who could concentrate were guessing almost as much as I was.

My only real consolation is that we will still write clinical in July, and even if the examination at the end of the year goes poorly, I can write the supp.

Today things looked up a bit. I started on my Interanl Medicine rotation. My clinical group and I were quite nervous. Physicians are notorious for being egotististical (-testicle!) and very intimidating.

Our registrar is fortunately quite nice. He is not a push-over and still very intimidating, but he does have a good focus on teaching.

He gave us an excellent tutorial on ECGs today. MUCH more understandable than our classes last year. We didn’t have much ward work so we got the afternoon off – and I ended up studying. There is SO much to know. I have tried to learn as much as possible of last year’s cardio work.

Right now I feel quite good – as if I could do anything. Cook, learn to speak French, be a good student… So I’m trying to take advantage of that without burning out.

I do not want to get over-excited, but I think that perhaps I will enjoy this rotation. I sure am going to try.

2 thoughts on “Another new beginning”

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

