One day, when I grow up…

Day 25 of Calliope’s blogosphere summer camp was: What did you want to be when you grew up? Why and/or how did that change over time? I really wanted to write for that day, but things have been rather crazy back on campus. So I shall be answering it now.

I was one of those kids who wanted to be everything. Imagine my shock when I entered my final year of high school and that had not changed.

While I was certain that a 9-5 office job was not for me, I wanted to be a teacher, a lawyer, a fighter pilot, a diplomat, an engineer… oh, and a doctor of course.

What compounded the problem was that, honestly, I could probably be any of those if I wanted to. My marks and interests were correctly aligned for all of them.

Yes, I eventually gave up a scholarship for Law at Rhodes University to study Medicine where I am now. It was a last minute decision and was largely based on feelings of doing good, and reading a book called 28 Stories of AIDS in Africa.

My first year sucked and for the longest time I was convinced that I was studying the wrong thing. Why else would I hate it so much?

Then, slowly, I started stoking the fires of my previous interests. I continued to write for YJI. I became the editor-in-chief for my campus newspaper, tMATIE. And last year, I was elected as a member of our student council, the TSR.

This I have realised: I was never meant to devote all of my time to an entire profession. Medicine will be the profession that drives me and feeds me, but it is in combination with journalism and politics that I will truly achieve all the things I hope to do with my life.

I am currently running for my second term in office, this time for chairperson. I believe I can do this well. And I do believe it will prepare me exceptionally well for one day, when I’m all grown up…

1 thought on “One day, when I grow up…”

  1. One of the wonderful things about medicine is how there are many different ways to make a contribution within the field. Here’s hoping you’re able to mold your career and your extracurricular activities into something you love throughout your life.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

