Studying Medicine

Epiphany: I am not your nurse

I have a lot of respect for nurses. In fact, I often wish that some of my colleagues and superiors would be more like nurses while in the workplace.

A senior student once said, “If you think I was being rude to that patient, then maybe you should have studied nursing and not medicine.” he was wrong, but that is a story for another day.

I think that every well-meaning med-student has a moment where she realises why she is in the right profession after all.

I call it the I’M NOT YOUR EFFING NURSE-moment and mine happened last Saturday.

The Boy and I had a shopping list for his baby niece’s birthday party. As we walked into the shop, he started complaining of a terrible pain in his side – pain such that he could hardly walk. It scared him, that much was obvious.

I walked over to the gardening section and cleared a plastic chair for him, the idea being that he could sit and calm down while I collect the items on the shopping list (and formulate in my mind whether I should be worried about him).

Instead, when he caught up with me, he said, “Love, could you rather just help me with what needs to be done?”

You could say I went kind of blank. I very nearly burst into tears, explaining that that was exactly what I was trying to do.

I don’t do well with tears, so instead I got angry, stormed off and collected the items we needed.

That’s when I realised: I am not your (expletive) nurse. If he had collapsed, or I had noticed some other warning sign, I would help. But I would not have my concern thrown back in my face again. Not by a patient and most certainly not by a loved one.

For the record, The Boy apologised and he was just fine too, no hospital required.

But next time, he can get his own chair.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

