TTT: …and the season of receiving?

In my family, Christmas is a cozy affair. We aim to buy well-thought through gifts, but they are not generally excessive or expensive. And I don’t mind at all. I love being loved and splashy gifts are not a necessity. However, if money was not an issue, these would be the top ten books on my Dear Santa list (as hosted by The Broke and the Bookish):

1. My Secret: A PostSecret Book by Frank Warren

I want allll of these. I love them. I got the first one just recently because I was impatient (see yesterday’s post).

2. Tutu: The Authorised Portrait by Allister Sparks

Archbishop Tutu has said some stupid things this year, but I still admire him.

3. Roald Dahl Book Set (It contains Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, the BFG, the Twits, Matilda and George’s Marvelous Medicine)

I want these because they are awesome and pretty and one day my kids will read them.

4. Speeches that changed the world by Simon Montefiore

It has an included CD and it is awesome. I’m a sucker for good history.

5. The Last Sushi by Zapiro

I believe he is the best political cartoonist EVER and it is high time I acquire one of his annuals.

6. Dr Seuss books – any of them!

I did not grow up with his books, but discovered them more recently and even centred my campaign for student body chair around it. I think it’s awesome and applicable even for older readers. And I love the pretty pictures.

7. A Cartoon Guide to Becoming a Doctor  by Dr Fizzy McFizz

Her blog is awesome, as are her drawings. I need it.

8. This Won’t Hurt a Bit by Michelle Au

Another awesome blog and I loved her cartoons long before I decided to study medicine.

To be fair, I cannot really think of any other books I would like. I have a library card and many friends who share their books with me. Also, I very rarely purchase fiction books unless they are the kind I want to collect, like Roald Dahl. I like a lovely “coffee table book” that can be read often and entertain others too. Also, I am a poor student, and if somebody is going to spend money on me for Christmas, there are other things that would probably benefit me more.

I trust that all your Christmas wishes will come true!

18 thoughts on “TTT: …and the season of receiving?”

  1. I’ve always wondered who wrote The BFG. A teacher read that to my class in the fourth grade and I loved it. Of course, I didn’t start pondering who wrote it until a long time after I finished fourth grade. *laughs* I might have to get that set myself. It sounds awesome.

    I hope that you have a wonderful day. Merry Christmas!

    1. Funny, I’m glad I could be of assistance 😛
      I think it will be an awesome acquisition. Imagine one had a collection of first editions… swoon…
      Thanks for stopping by and Merry Christmas to you too!

  2. I love PostSecret. I think I have one of the coffee table books. I really enjoy reading the blog every week. Roald Dahl is awesome as well. Hope you find some of these under the tree!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

