Bookishness, Getting to know me

TTT: Top Books I Read in 2011

Top Ten Tuesdays is an original meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week: the top ten books I read in 2011.

As stated ad nauseum, I don’t read too much lately – sadly. These are some of the favourites I managed to scrape together. Perhaps the acquisition of my iPad will change that next year.

  1. The Help by Kathryn Stockett: A month ago I didn’t even know this book existed. It is amazing and addresses every issue I have ever been passionate about. The author is also great at finding the voices of her different characters.
  2. The Host by Stephenie Meyer: I’ve written this before, but it is hard to believe that the book is written by the same author as Twilight.
  3. Three Letter Plague by Jonnie Steinberg
  4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: Loved this book. Couldn’t wait to start the sequels.
  5. Another day in the Frontal Lobe by Katrina Firlik
  6. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  7. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  8. Testimony by Anita Shreve: This was the first book by Shreve I found enjoyable enough to complete.

To be frank, I can’t in good conscience add any other books to this list. The Hobbit was descriptive and imaginative but not nearly gripping enough and The Fallen was rather atrocious. And those are just the ones I can remember…

19 thoughts on “TTT: Top Books I Read in 2011”

  1. I saw the movie The Help, and it made me want to read the book. My mom’s been raving about it forever!

    I’m crazy over The Hunger Games and Catching Fire! Not so much for Mockingjay, I actually hated it so much I pretend it isn’t part of the series. BUT I’m a huge Hunger Games fan! I’ve never met anyone who didn’t like that book!

    1. I can’t wait for The Help movie to reach South Africa, I’m sure it’s wonderful.

      Yeah? I didn’t think Mockingjay was that bad – or rather, it was written well, and it was thrilling, but I really hated some of the things that happened. And what I hated most was Katniss’ vote at the end of the book… but I try to convince myself that it was social commentary from the author.

      Oh, and I’ve also never met anyone who didn’t enjoy THG. I’m trying to get people here hooked on it since it seems to only just have reached our shores.

  2. I really should get around to reading The Help! It’s been on my book pile for a while, but I just haven’t gotten around to it. It does sound like such a great novel.

    And I loved The Hunger Games trilogy as well! It was fast-paced and exciting and gripping and I just couldn’t wait to see what would happen next!

  3. I didn’t read any of the books you read but I’ll add a few to my to-read list ofcourse. ‘The Help’ is already in there, though.
    And you won’t mind if I steal your topic, right? :p

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

