TTT: Freebie

It’s Freebie Week at The Broke and The Bookish, and I am notoriously bad with freebies. Considering I read most of my books from the library, I am also not very good at lists. Nevertheless, here are my Top Ten Books for Students, Professionals and Fanatics of the Health Sciences. These books (both fiction and non)  are chosen for enjoyability while still offering the opportunity to learn something, be it knowledge or insight.

  1. The Death Committee by Noah Gordon: A very old book, intricately weaving a tale of medical research, ethics and social development in the 1960s among health care workers.
  2. 28 Stories of AIDS in Africa by Stephanie Nolen: With HIV becoming more of a global problem, this one should not be missed.
  3. Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers: Illustrates the importance of family and compassion. It will make you cry.
  4. Another day in the Frontal Lobe by Katrina Firlik: Excellent, whether you love or hate the brain.
  5. A Life in Pieces by Richard Baer: Masterfully told, it offers much insight into the life and workings of a Psychiatric practice and its patients.
  6. Déjà Dead by Kathy Reichs: All Reichs’ books are worthy, actually, but this is my favourite and probably fuels the interest most out of them all. Not everybody can work in a forensics lab, but everyone can learn from it.
  7. Three-Letter Plague by Jonny Steinberg: Read more here, if you are not already tired of my incessant ranting thereof.
  8. The Emperor of all Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee: Even though I haven’t read it yet, I have heard nothing but good about it.
  9. Bloodstream by Tess Gerritsen: Excellent medical thrillers are written by Gerritsen.
  10. Handle with Care by Jodi Picoult: I am not in general a fan of all her books, but this is one of the exceptions. The book concerns a little girl with osteogenesis imperfecta and the ethical issues regarding antenatal screening.
15 thoughts on “TTT: Freebie”

  1. I have The Emperor of Maladies just sitting next to my bed waiting to be read, but it looks daunting and makes me nervous. Every time I read the first four pages which is the story of a woman with cancer and I can’t get past them.

  2. The Story of Lo: one family’s extraordinary journey is a really good book. It is about one of our upperclassmen’s sisters life with CF and their family’s journey of living with a chronic illness.

  3. I’ve heard good things about Life on the Refrigerator Door so I should check it out one day. I’ve enjoyed some Jodi Picoult in the past – her topics always sound so melodramatic and yet when I read them I don’t feel emotionally manipulated. I’m not familiar with this one at all but I’ll have to put it on the wishlist.

    I haven’t read 28 Stories of AIDS but I recognise the name, Stephanie Nolen – I’ve read many of her journalistic pieces for the Globe and Mail over the years, she did a lot in Africa about countries I knew nothing about. She’s a great writer.

    Love your list! Here’s my TTT.

    1. It is amazing, just know that it will make you cry… And it is a small, thin pink book, so it goes quickly.

      Stephanie Nolen’s journalistic pieces are also amazing, she is one of my fave journalists, I think.

      Thanks for the visit, hope to see you again soon!

  4. What a great list! I’ve never heard of the books in the list before but thank you so much for sharing this with us! It really helps me to find a good book with health science!

    Celine @ Forget-me-not

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

