Bookishness, Getting to know me

Top Ten Books that broke my heart a little…

The anti-valentine this year, The Broke and the Bookish asks which books broke our hearts a little. I had to give this one quite a lot of thought.

I am not a particularly romantic person. So, when I say it broke my heart, I mean it made me sad.

WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD! DUE WARNING WILL BE GIVEN.

1. Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

I think this may have been the first book to make me cry (I was 8 years old at the time). At that age, romance meant little to me, and it was about the wonderful friendship Jess and Leslie shared. The perpetual tomboy-bookworm, I had always wanted an imaginative and adventurous friend like Leslie. The loss struck me hard.

2. A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

This author deserves a price for softening my hardened little heart. It breaks the heart on many different levels – the violence, the love between a mother and child, the loss of romantic love.

3. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

SUPER BIG SPOILER

Katniss ends up with Petar. What?! It is cute, sure. Destined even, if I believed in destiny. But it means that Katniss never truly escapes the Games. She still has no control over her life whatsoever. Then again, maybe she deserved that for voting for a final Hunger Games. I think that broke my heart even more.

END OF SUPER SPOILER

4. The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseine

Absolutely heart-breaking. Read it, but stock up on happy pills.

5. Cracks by Sheila Kohler

The loss of innocence experienced by the young girls haunted me.

6. A Child Called “It” by David Pelzer

One of the worst cases of child abuse in history. I read this at the age of 14 and felt broken for his part afterwards.

7. My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

The book, not the movie. The movie destroyed the epilogue.

8. Good Night Mr. Tom by Michelle Magorian

Despite the severe losses encountered by young Willie, he continues to learn, mature, and believe in the good of humanity.

9. Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes

This book made me doubt intelligence and humanity and relationships as a whole. A very intelligent story though.

10. Life on the Refrigerator Door by Alice Kuipers

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Books that broke my heart a little…”

  1. Ah! I am just finishing up the master post for Top Ten Tuesday this week and seeing your list I am seeing some I should have thought of! Both Hosseini books were incredibly depressing. Flowers for Algernon broke my heart when I read it but acting in the play gave me good memories associated with it, which is why I probably didnt think of it.

    Great list!!

  2. Great list. Out of which I read only 3 so far. My sister’s keeper, The thousand splendid suns, and The kite runner… Its depressing but incredibly amazing.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

