Bookishness, Getting to know me

Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss

As a rule, I do not review non-medical books on this blog, unless it forms part of a Top Ten Tuesday. However, since my recent discovery of the myriad of book blogs, Goodreads and the ability to read while maintaining my schedule has led to me rather bravely attempting a bookish challenge, I have decided to blog about those books.

For the category of Romance I read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins.

GoodReads summary:Β Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

I do not read chick-lit and I can’t remember when last I have read a self-proclaimed romance novel. However, this challenge calls for broadening our reading choices, for adding variety. So when I had to choose a romance novel, I chose the soppiest one I could think of. It has received so many great reviews, after all.

Nevertheless, I didn’t start the novel with very high expectations.

But, boy, I did enjoyAnna and the French Kiss. Anna, the protagonist, is hilarious in a down-to-earth, bitter kind of way. Her observations, her confused teenage brain, her fears were so genuine and funny.

And make sure he doesn’t give him too many treats because they make him fat and then he can’t get out of his igloo.

Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins

Perkins’ characterisation is quite lovely, too. If I said I didn’t swoon for St. Clair just a little, I’d be lying.

I was often a little jealous of Anna’s life. I have now fallen in love with the idea of visiting Paris (and not because of the boy-candy – I’m taken after all).

Sure, the novel is a little shallow. It deals with friendships, and a few life crises, but if focuses mainly on love and crushes and the accompanying drama. But the novel never claims to be anything else. And anyway, it was so nice to be able to just read something, without wondering if I was missing some sattire on society. It was nice to submerge myself in Anna’s life, giggle at her, swoon with her.

Romance won’t be my favourite genre – it was once upon a time, though. But I’m so glad I read this novel. I’ll be reading Perkins’ other work too.

I wish friends held hands more often, like the children I see on the streets sometimes. I’m not sure why we have to grow up and get embarrassed about it.

Anna and the French Kiss, Stephanie Perkins

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss”

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

