Getting to know me

Banana Loaf Recipe

A while ago I wrote about baking, cooking, and my awesome banana bread.

Yesterday I made it again (the boy said it was the best he had ever tasted) and I realised I never posted the recipe.

So here it is. I think the original recipe is from a South African cookbook called “Kook en Geniet”.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened but not melted
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 4 very ripe large bananas
  • 3/4 cups chopped walnuts or pecan nuts [optional]

Notes: 1 cup = 250ml

1 tsp = 5 ml

I never add the nuts, but I am sure it can be quite nice.

If you use self-raising flour, omit the baking powder

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C
  2. Beat together the butter and sugar until creamy
  3. Add the vanilla
  4. Add eggs one by one, mix well after each addition
  5. Sift together dry ingredients, mix into butter/sugar/egg mix
  6. Mash bananas well and add to mixture
  7. Pour into small greased and floured bread tin and bake for one hour or until the bread pulls slightly from the side of the tin.
  8. Allow to cool on cooling rack for ~1hour before slicing

Try not to place the baking tin to high in the oven and it should come out well. Serve the slices with a generous amount of butter (it is a treat, after all).

5 thoughts on “Banana Loaf Recipe”

  1. On my first visit to your Space I am rather hungry,
    and I too enjoy banana cake, so pop the kettle on
    and slice a nice portion of your cake, and…

    Well it’s not a party but it will certainly be enjoyable 🙂

    Have a very good
    day / evening / weekend…

    Androgoth

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

