Getting to know me

Cupcake Catastrophe

…yes, I really did just start a recipe-post like that. The recipe is great, promise. I myself, perhaps not so much.

FriendAtMedSchool and I decided to bake cupcakes with nutella icing.

This is the Cupcake recipe:

  • 125ml  butter
  • 125ml white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1 and 1/4 cup self-raising flower

Directions:

Preheat Oven to 190°C. Cream the sugar and butter. Add the eggs one by one, mixing after each addition. Add the milk and mix. Sift the flower into the mixture and mix well. The mixture will be a thick  batter. Spoon into greased cupcake pans. Bake for 20 minutes or until light golden.

Unfortunately, my paranoia once again got the better of me. Not satisfied with the colour, we decided to keep the cupcakes in a bit longer. As a result the cupcakes were too dry… 

The icing was another kind of funny.

The recipe for nutella icing is equal parts nutella and fresh cream with a teaspoon of vanilla essence,  followed by whipping until it is of a thick-ish consistency. Note that I only have a blender and we realised too late that blenders do not whip.

We started adding bits of flour, Nesquick powder and cocoa powder, but only managed a slight improvement in consistency.

Our gluttony overpowering us, we decided to make do, and injected the runny mixture into the cupcakes (such a med-student thing to do, right?!). It was ridiculously sweet, and ridiculously delicious.

And gave me a ridiculous migraine.

And this morning I looked in the fridge, where we stored the surplus “icing”. It had hardened into a delicious mousse!

4 thoughts on “Cupcake Catastrophe”

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

