Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With

It is Spring Madness in the Northern Hemisphere, it seems, and The Broke and the Bookish are looking for partners in crime.

On my side of the globe it is getting cold. The days are still warmish, but the mornings are crisp and the evening bite. So, whether it’s class or hospital or meetings, I would generally rather curl up  in my bed (or in front of a fireplace, if I had such a thing) and read until I fall asleep.

This is called “playing hooky” apparently – why I do not know. So these are the books I’d rather read than work, the truant that I am.

By the King’s Design by Christine Trent: I won this book in a giveaway from TBTB and it arrived in the mail last week. I haven’t read historical fiction in a long time, and I would love to curl up with this one – especially since it’s a real book. A lot of my books these days are ebooks.

The Roald Dahl Treasury which I got for Christmas from my family and has a great collection of Roald Dahl excerpts and Quentin Blake’s illustrations. I haven’t been able to give this treasure the attention it deserves.

Worlds Afire by Paul B. Janeczko: I got this book from Cloonan Middle School (Connecticut) when I traveled there in 2010. This collection of poems is about the Hartford Circus Fire of 1944 and the one or two that I have read are haunting.

The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros: a gift to me from an American exchange student who fell in love with South African cultures and wanted to expose me to her culture. She describes Cisneros as “her Antjie“. Tiny book that this is, I feel I need to be able to read it unrushed to really get its full worth.

Mark Twain Collected Tales, Sketches, Speeches, & Essays 1891-1910: I have written about this before. Twain’s writings are so intelligent and I have not had nearly enough time to get immersed in it. And if you’re gonna be playing hooky, you might as well do it with a book your high school teachers would have approved of!

Shelf Life edited by Gary Paulsen: Ten Original Stories to Benefit ProLiteracy Worldwide. Prominent authors were asked to write any short story, the only condition being that it had to include mention of a book. I’ll admit that I don’t know the authors (Ellen Conford, M.T. Anderson, etc.) but just the fact that this book is in aid of literacy makes my heart swoon.

Any PostSecret book by Frank Warren (even the one I have read a million gazillion times, or the website).

Captivating by John & Stasi Eldredge: no matter how difficult my religious life is (and let’s be honest, it hasn’t been in a great state for a while), this book has a way of finding its way into my heart. I’ve been feeling the need to re-read it.

English Alive Anthologies: I wrote about these before too. They are amazing and inspire me creatively. I love to read them when the outside world thinks I am sleeping.

My Old Journals: When I was younger, I used to get embarrassed by my journals and burn them in fits of emotion. Fortunately I learned to withstand those urges. I tend to learn a lot from reading what I wrote long ago – although they do have the propensity of sending me in a downward spiral.

This TTT is making me wistful. I’m so tempted to up and leave to the Boy’s seaside apartment. Read and drink hot chocolate while hearing the ocean’s roar… Am I missing any books on my list?

14 thoughts on “Top Ten Books I’d Play Hooky With”

  1. Great list! I like Captivating, too, although Wild at Heart was always my favorite… even though that one talked mostly about men, it taught me so much about being a woman.

    My old journals are embarrassing, too, but the ones from when I was very young tend to send me into fits of laughter. 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

      1. Yeah. I wished I kept some of them so i could laugh at myself when in dire need of some LOL times.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

