The Meeting: Ni & Mi

Today (a public holiday) I went to Stellenbosch, in the Winelands District of the Western Cape. The medical campus is far from the main campus, so I don’t get to go to Stellenbosch very often. But today I met Nazirah.

Yes, the tree has to be in there. It’s pretty, and I was having a bad hair day

Nazirah and I are both medical students – she in Malaysia and I in Cape Town. She’s doing her elective rotation in Cape Town. We met via our blogs. And no, we’re not the kind of people who readily meet people over the internet.

Because I don’t know Stellenbosch very well myself, one of my friends, Dee, joined us for the day. She gave us the royal tour and it was lovely. And a royal tour must of course start with some lovely tea. We went to The Birdcage, a quaint little coffee shop with the most amazing teas. I had French Vanilla tea, Dee had Raspberry and Blueberry, and Nazirah had Rooibos tea – the endemic and famous “red bush” tea of South Africa. And she liked it!

Dee’s tea is pink, Ni’s is reddish. How lovely are the tea sets?!

We learned a lot about similarities and differences between our countries in terms of healthcare, politics and infrastructure. It was amazing. It was a chilly – but not cold – Autumn day, and the town was simply beautiful.

And I got to meet an international friend, and that with the aid of WordPress.

24 thoughts on “The Meeting: Ni & Mi”

  1. I love when computer friends become friends in person! I have met so many people through my blog – and even one who moved just down the street from me! I’m going to go and check out more of your blog πŸ™‚

  2. What a beautiful post and your pictures are breathtaking. I haven’t met any of my blogger friends in person yet, but hope to some day. I am glad you had the opportunity. Stopping in from SITS

  3. Hehe. Thanks for meeting up with me. You’re so awesome! I probably would never have learnt of or visit Stellenbosch if it weren’t for you! πŸ™‚ If you’re up for that all you can eat sushi competition, a friend of mine, (who’s a Brit 5th year elective med student) also wants to join us!

  4. What a beautiful day! Some of my very best friends were found via mutual interest over the internet. It is an amazing medium.

    (And I LOVE rooibos. It’s the only kind of tea I can drink unsweetened.)

  5. How fun to meet a blog friend in real life and all the international stuff to boot. Sounds like an awesome experience. And on the book review above, I am not a med person but one time I read a history of diabetes and learning how the disease was handled in the past and how research money works now was a huge eye opener.

  6. How lovely! And I think, too, that Roiboos is delicious.

    I’m not sure why or how I didn’t realize you were located in Cape Town. I’ve been studying S. African literature and history for a while (though it isn’t my main focus) and am glad to realize that I have, in a small way, a connection to the place through your writing. πŸ™‚

    I am located in the States in Oklahoma, just so you know.

    1. Ah, well there you go! That’s cool, I’d love to hear your opinions on South African literature. I need to read more of it, actually. And I’m glad you like Rooibos πŸ˜€

    1. Hehe, that’s funny. It’s just as weird for me sometimes too, like when people complain about shoveling snow in December and I’m getting sunburned at the beach πŸ˜›
      Happy Spring to you, though πŸ™‚

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

