TTT: Quotes that Inspire

I think one of the biggest reasons I read is because it inspires me. It inspires me to live, to love, to be bigger than I am, to exceed life’s expectations.

I guess you could say I collect quotes – so today’s Top Ten Tuesday with The Broke and the Bookish is making me very happy. These are my memes, which I thoroughly enjoyed creating:

Dumbledore will always have a special spot in my heart. He was such a good mentor to Harry.

You didn’t anticipate a list without Dahl, did you?

Nobody thought I would enjoy this book. I’m surprised too. But the satire and ingenious angle leaves me with many a favourite quote.

I did not enjoy this book and I didn’t finish it either. But the author has a superb way with metaphors and such.

One of my favourite setwork books in high school. That little island taught me so much about this big bad world.

I think I’ve mentioned this book in a TTT before. Albom is wonderful with life lessons.

And people say Shakespeare is irrelevant to modern teens…

Another book I really didn’t enjoy, but this verse struck a cord.

Oh Atticus, this is why I’ll always crush on you.

I read this on recommendation from TBTB. Much better than the movie Contagion!

Here’s the typed-out versions of the memes for those whose internet is wonky:

  1. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.” Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, J.K. Rowling
  2. “A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men.” Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Roald Dahl
  3. “A towel is about the most massively useful thing an interstellar hitchhiker can have.” The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams
  4. “With passing years, a single kiss can acquire more meaning than many years of naked skin.” Chernobyl Strawberries, Vesna Goldsworthy
  5. “Maybe there is a beast… maybe it’s only us.” Lord of the Flies, William Golding
  6. “But behind all your stories is always your mother’s story, because hers is where yours begin.” For one more day, Mitch Albom
  7. “But he that filches from me my good name, robs me of that which not enriches him and makes me poor indeed.” Othello, William Shakespeare
  8. “Roads go ever and ever on, under cloud and under star, yet feet that wandering have gone turn at last to home afar.” The Hobbit, J.R.R. Tolkien
  9. “Sometimes the Bible in the hand of one man is worse than a whiskey bottle in the hand of another.” To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
  10. “This is what we do. We make tea and read books and watch people die.” The Way We Fall, Megan Crewe
47 thoughts on “TTT: Quotes that Inspire”

  1. Oh my gosh, this is so neat! I love how you did yours.

    I need to be better about collecting quotes. I used to be much better at it, and then I let it fall by the wayside. This seems like a great way to remember which ones you liked, because you have the image to go along with them.

    Laura @ The Traveling Owl

    1. Thank you! I have a big book for quotes, but I also sometimes tend to forget to write them down… This is the first time I’m doing it with images, but I think I might do it a lot more now! It’s really fun.

  2. I have a quote from “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” too, but that’s pretty much all that book was for me. A collection of quotes that made me laugh wrapped up in a story I didn’t care about.

  3. LOVE a lot of these quotes!! I started to do the SAME THING with my quotes and then ran out of time and only did the “Road is Life” one haha. It was a little ambition during wedding planning time. haha. Yours turned out EXCELLENT!!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

