“That’s SO Cool!”

I saw Janeway lesions the other day. Janeway lesions are rare and elusive, and usually present due to an underlying vasculitis or endocarditis.

The registrar on call had seen them only once before. In theory blocks we were told not to bother looking out for them because they are so rare.

My first reaction was to jump up-and-down with excitement. Fortunately I didn’t do so in front of the patient or her family. Her circumstances were not reason for excitement: a textbook-case of Systemic Lupus Erythematosus, fairly common in this part of the world. She was young and had signs of advanced renal failure.

The Janeway lesions were from a sterile endocarditis due to the serositis accompanying lupus.

It made me realise how excited we, in the medical community, become when we see a rare or textbook presentation.

A few days later I had a patient with advanced Huntington’s Disease. Something I’d never seen before. And I thought, “That’s too cool” – and then remembered again, it wasn’t.

It really, really isn’t.

Interesting, but by no means “cool”.

8 thoughts on ““That’s SO Cool!””

    1. It is really interesting – in the years of theory class I sometimes thought that all these diseases were made up and that I’d never be able to identify them in the clinical setting. I do still feel horrid for those moments of excitement though. Ugh, I’m such a cliche 😛

  1. So, the first thing I thought when I saw this was “that’s so cool.” It was followed shortly (before I even got to really reading the post to a “oh my, that is a real patient with real endocarditis or something”). It is so funny how our minds work. Glad you got to see that though (in a twisted interested learning kind of way).

    1. Thanks 🙂 Good to know it’s kind of a global medical thing. My friends keep saying that I should have taken a picture since I might never see it again… I completely didn’t think of that.

  2. Sigh, you’re not the only cliche :p just recently we had a patient with bilateral ectopic pregnancy and we were all so horrifically excited the first time we got to know 😦 how sadistic! We can so easily misunderstood as heartless people, really. Love your blog 🙂

      1. Gee thanks 🙂 I feel quite at home here 😉 yeah that was a really rare case. It was suspected as unilateral but on laparoscopic exploration, they discovered the other one. One of our professors recently presented the case in an international conference of obg and our hospital received much recognition. The HOD of obg department couldn’t boast more about it. Sigh 🙂

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

