Bookishness, Getting to know me

Six-month Book Haul

I’ve been resisting the temptation to do a book-haul this whole year. Possible to resist a main-stream activity, or just because I don’t get books regularly.

It’s practically six months since I discovered book blogging, so I’ll share the books I’ve acquired in this time. I don’t buy books often. I believe in libraries! But I like owning a special book, and winning something is a happy moment too.

PostSecret: Extraordinary Confessions from Ordinary Lives by Frank Warren – this was the first book I bought in a long, looooong time. It made me so happy! It is the favourite attraction in my dorm room and continues to inspire me.

The Roald Dahl Treasury – I hint-hinted and nudge-nudged severely and my family caught on (because they’re clever like that). I was hinting for a Dahl book in general, they surprised me with a treasury I didn’t know existed.

By the King’s Design by Christine Trent – this was the first book I won! I got it from The Broke and The Bookish. And it has a written note by Trent. I haven’t read this one yet. It is on Mount TBR.

The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng – the first time I was asked to participate in a virtual book tour. I don’t know what happened to the book tour, but I reviewed it anyway. Being my first ARC and all. (Received from Myrmidon Books)

Insight Guide to India – purchased with hard-earned money so that I can make the best of my upcoming trip.

Belieber! Fame, Faith and the Heart of Justin by Cathleen Falsani – nah, I’m not a super Bieber fan, but you’ve gotta admit the kid has a voice, guts and a story to tell. I have a friend (who will remain nameless in order to save his ego) who really admires the kid, so I kind of entered the competition for him. And of course I’ll read the book, eventually. (Won from Exclusive Books)

Whisper Not by Openly Positive – purchased at Cape Town Book Fair, and sure to join the ranks ofย 28 Stories of AIDS in Africa andย Three Letter Plague.

Deadlands by Lily Herne – the South African zombie novel with a twist, which I just finished reading. Review will follow soon! I bought it at Bargain Books for R50 (about $6); the normal price is in the range of R200. Yes, books in South Africa cost too much.

Defining Moments by Marius Barnard – cardiac surgeon and brother of Chris Barnard (first to perform a heart transplant), this autobiography was bought by my aunt. I was a little skeptical, but they guy was even an MP of the opposition in his day! Looking forward to reading it.

So that’s my book haul for six whole months, which explains why I don’t do one every week. But I love each of these books.

5 thoughts on “Six-month Book Haul”

  1. What a lovely idea posting some great books! I love Roald Dahl stories – he has such an amazing imagination! Came by via SITS Saturday sharefest, and was happy to see you on the post above mine today! Lovely to stop by again, hope you are well ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

