TTT: Characters in Real Life

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday with The Broke and the Bookish is titled Top Ten Characters Who Remind Me Of Myself Or Someone I Know In Real Life.

I found this a little challenging because I rarely find myself comparing characters to real-life people. As a writer, I’m keenly aware of the unique fingerprint of each character. There are  always differences. I also had to be careful of the line between actual and desired similarities.

1. Daemon from Obsidian by Jennifer Armentrout – Daemon reminds me of a boyfriend I had once. He was rude and mysterious and definitely forbidden. It was still one of the most tangible relationships I have ever had. But those characteristics rarely make for a lasting relationship.

2. Minny and Aibileen from The Help by Kathryn Stockett – combined, these lovely ladies remind me of Cynthia, one of our own helps when I was little (and if you are going to turn judgmental on the issue of real-life help, I suggest you read these posts by World Moms Blog first). She was our biggest support after moving to this town, she was like a second mother to us kids – but fortunately our own mom is nothing like Elizabeth! She is now retired, but we still see her regularly.

3. Steve Jobs from Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson – I don’t know if this is cheating since he’s actually a real person. Not being a tech-fundie, I was surprised throughout this book how much The Boy has in common with Jobs. His disregard for conventional education and his brusqueness are especially notable in similarity. Fortunately The Boy does not share ALL Jobs’ attributes.

4. John “Spud” Milton from the Spud series by John van de Ruit – Spud reminds me of my little brother. You know, the adolescent boy trying to deal with growth spurts and such, and messing around with the boys while trying not to lose track of his individual artistic gifts.

5. Marcus Flutie from Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty – he reminds me of a good friend I have, who is rather unorthodox and non-conformist, but a real little philosopher inside. I have lovely soul-searching discussions with him. And he makes me roll on the floor with laughter.

6. Jocelyn Fray/Fairchild from City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Jocelyn reminds me of an aunt I had, who sadly passed on in a violent hijacking. She too was a single parent with a turbulent past; a gentle, slightly disheveled, artistic soul. The similarities make me emotional.

And now some characters that remind me of myself:

7. Cadi from The Last Sin Eater by Francine Rivers – there is a sadness and curiosity in Cadi that reminds me of the ten-year-old me.

8. Jess from Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson – it’s more the friendship with Leslie than anything else that rings true here. I was (am?) a creative little thing that loved conjuring up imaginary worlds. I was blessed to have a friend who indulged in these worlds with me. We had wonderful adventures together. We ended up going our separate ways, but she will always have a special place in my heart.

9. Margaret Simon from Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume – I think the reason this book is such a hit is because the protagonist is so easy to relate to!

10. Hermione from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – as I’ve said before, I am often compared to Hermione. And that’s okay. Only, I don’t think I’m quite as brave.

29 thoughts on “TTT: Characters in Real Life”

  1. Oh, I love that you mentioned Jess and Leslie and it reminded me that I was lucky to have a childhood friend to create imaginary worlds with too! My first time participating.

  2. Thank you for including our link about having help around the world. And I love all your comments about breastfeeding and hospital rotations and South Africa that you’ve written on our blog — I’m glad we found each other!

    Jen 🙂

  3. I love that you included Margaret, I think I related to almost every Judy Blume character growing up. Great list!

  4. Margaret is a great inclusion! Growing up, I totally related to her (and like other commenters, mentioned a lot of her
    characters are totally relatable!)

  5. Totally had a real person on my list as well. Plus, I wanted to add Steve Jobs to my list too (as I’m reading the biography right now), but just couldn’t justify adding two real people to my list. Love your list!

  6. Hermione! Yes, I loved her in Harry Potter and good choice on Jess, I loved Bridge to Terabithia, it was such a sad sweet book.I love the both of those characters so much. Great post this week.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

