War Stories: OSCEs

Standard

Did I ever tell you about the paediatric OSCE that went horribly wrong? I think I might have alluded to it once or twice.

The Paeds Rotation is possibly the scariest rotation at our school – stories abound of students who passed their final year rotations with honours, but had to repeat Paediatrics. So we were all suitably scared when our day arrived.

It was supposed to be a viva voce (live voice) examination. When I walked into the room, the doctor glared at me and said that he would give me half an hour to examine the child and prepare my presentation. I asked (politely, I thought) if it was not supposed to be viva voce. He frowned and stated no (but it was most definitely supposed to be viva voce).

15 minutes later he arrived, ready to listen. Remember that he initially said 30 minutes. Oh well, I started presenting.

He was very quiet during my presentation. It was nice not being interrupted, but he exuded an extremely unpleasant vibe. I was worried.

At the end of my presentation he was quiet. Then, clearing is throat, “Yes… you have a very interesting surname. Very unusual. Are you originally from (insert hometown)?”

ME: (excited because perhaps we have met before) Yes, I am!

CONSULTANT: Is your mom a lawyer?

ME: Oh, no, she’s a social worker.

CONSULTANT: Your aunt? Or any of your female relatives?

ME: No, but there are many with my surname where we come from, we don’t even know most of them.

CONSULTANT: Mmmmh. Yes. I received a letter from a lawyer with your surname earlier this week.

And then the OSCE was done. I was so angry. So a lawyer with my surname is suing you. So what? Whatever happened to professionalism? Even if it WAS one of my relatives, what do I have to do with that? This is a small country, smaller than freaking Texas. What if my surname was Smith?!

I wanted to lodge a complaint, but knowing the way doctors and academics protect each other (at least where I come from), and knowing that I still have til end 2014 to have OSCEs here, I guess I decided against it. It went against my sense of justice, but what can you do?

It was a difficult OSCE, but I did think I performed better than the mark I received. It was, by far, the most unpleasant experience I have had to date.

2 thoughts on “War Stories: OSCEs

  1. Not sure if you are required to go for Surgery rotations. They contribute more horror stories than any other rotations (according to better half’s viewpoint).
    A person in position or with power at times tend to come across obnoxiously and it’s true in any college. Prof. Drs they all are part of same fraternity, loyal to they band (not the cause)

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

