Bookishness, Getting to know me

Top Ten Kickass Heroines

I have a thing for strong female characters – a while ago I named Bellatrix Lestrange as my favourite villain – so this week’s TTT with The Broke and the Bookish should be fun.

1. Tiger Lily from Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Tiger Lily is my hero. She doesn’t care for others’ opinions and she’s got a mean aim.

2. Isabelle from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

She’s a BAMF! I love her take-no-prisoners attitude. And she’s obviously hawt.

3. Lirael from Lirael by Garth Nix

“Some people are born great, others have greatness thrust upon them.” Lirael reminds me of this. She kind of finds adventure unexpectedly, and learns to be brave very quickly.

4. Hermione Granger from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

You know, she’s probably so overdone on my lists and others’, but that’s okay. Hermione was probably the first character in a book I actually looked up to. She is brave and confident and very efficient, whether in planning or doing.

5. Hester from Deadlands by Lily Herne

She taught the Mall Rats everything they knew – a martial artists who knows her weapons and fought in The War. She’s so cool.

6. Wren from Cold Kiss by Amy Garvey

Yes, Wren does a stupid thing and abuses her gift, but she has the strength to take responsibility and to deal with the consequences – really, not something a lot of us know how to do.

7. Zan from Run, Zan, Run by Cathy MacPhail

So, in case anyone hasn’t figured this out yet: Bullying is BAD, and everyone should do what they can to prevent it, even if they don’t have kids, or don’t teach, or whatever. Zan is awesome. She sticks up for Katie despite not even knowing her. And later we learn that Zan actually has a lot to lose.

8. Lisbeth Salander from The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

It doesn’t matter that I think the books are a little verbose, Lisbeth is still amazing. Yeah, she has issues, but she deals with them wonderfully, and I love her sense of justice.

9. Aomame from 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami

Another book I didn’t enjoy, and Aomame’s behaviour is not always exactly kosher. But she tries to right wrongs in her own way, and there is no doubt of her skill.

10. Ginny Weasley from Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Couldn’t resist a second HP character. What I love about Ginny is her growth – when we first meet her she is a scared and shy little thing, and she grows such that she eventually plays a massive part in Dumbledore’s Army. Yeah, she’s awesome.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Kickass Heroines”

  1. Hi!
    I totally agree about Lisabeth! I forgot her.
    There can never be too many Harry Potter references in my opinion!
    Thanks for visiting my TTT 🙂

  2. Number one rocks, not because I’ve heard of her (sorry!) but because she shares two of my names. 😀 Certainly agree with Hermione, though. I’d also add Annabeth Chase from the very-similar Percy Jackson series. And you’ve reminded me that I’ve still yet to read Murakami’s latest novel, and I must attempt Garth Nix again (I tried Sabriel and I just could not get further than twenty pages.)

    1. The first time I tried Sabriel, I couldn’t get into it either. So try once more, maybe.
      I’ve never read any Percy Jackson, but I’ll give it a go!
      And you have Tiger and Lily in your name? super cool!

  3. since we have a few in common, i don’t feel bad telling you you have great taste! i wanted to put my favorite HP girl, Luna, on there, because she’s no slacker, but compared to Hermione & Ginny, she may as well be a hufflepuff. 🙂

  4. Great list! I really need to read Tiger Lily, because it sounds like such a great book. Ginny’s a great choice, and I’m really surprised I haven’t seen her on more lists.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

