TTT Freebie: Pets make the world go round

This week’s TTT with The Broke and the Bookish is a freebie, which means that we get to choose our own topic. Since I love pets, I’ve gone with favourite bookish pets. Someone suggested it as a topic in a previous Freebie TTT, but I can’t remember who it was… sorry!

1. Manchee from The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

Manchee is the most amazing dog. He is so loyal to Todd, and so funny in the way he speaks (yes, he speaks – if you have not yet read this book, you need to). But be prepared to cry several times.

2. Buttercup from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I adore this grumpy old cat – he has a survivor’s spirit in him too!

3. Hedgewick from the Harry Potter books by J.K. Rowling

I want a snow owl too! I love how Hedgewick was Harry’s link to the wizard-world when he was away for long, lonely summers. And she was a brave little owl, too…

4. Joseph from Heidi by Johanna Spyri

This big and burly Saint Bernard makes my heart feel warm and fuzzy. He’s the gentle giant.

5. Mogget from Sabriel by Garth Nix

I don’t know if it’s really right to call Mogget a pet – those who have read the book will understand. But I do love Mogget for the way he protected Sabriel not only from the new world she discovers, but also from his own power.

6. Kaelyn’s Ferrets from The Way We Fall by Megan Crewe

We don’t really learn much about their personalities per se, but they keep Kaelyn and little Meredith occupied, and I’ve always wondered about having ferrets as pets (it’s not allowed in South Africa though).

7. Grimalkin from The Iron King by Julie Kagawa

Grimalkin isn’t all good – I’ve only read the first book, but I suspect he has unpleasant ulterior motives. Nevertheless, he is witty and semi-helpful to Meghan.

8. Prince Terrien from The Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson

The dog given to Leslie by Jess for Christmas. An absolutely lovable puppy that is appointed as the guardian of Terabithia and the court jester. I just wish… well, I just wish.

9. Buck from The Call of the Wild by Jack London

I read this book to The Boy and we both fell in love with Buck, and felt very sad for him. Buck is a strong and courageous dog. He does succumb to the wild, but that does not make him less enigmatic.

10. Chairman Meow from The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Magnus Bane’s cat has character and (c)attitude, and I just love his name!

11 thoughts on “TTT Freebie: Pets make the world go round”

  1. Possibly my favorite thing about The Hunger Games was Buttercup (or Peeta)! Thanks to Harry Potter, I now have a soft spot for owl, I used to find them positively creepy.

  2. Hi!
    Grimalkin and Hedgwig! yes! LOVE them. Great list topic!
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Great list—I really need to re-read the Garth Nix books. I loved them so much in high school, Lirael in particular, but at this point, I barely remember any of the details!

    Have you read Kristin Cashore’s books? I think Fire’s pony, Small, would get a place on my list, as would Faithful the cat from Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness quartet.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

