Getting to know me

Holiday Slump

https://i1.wp.com/media-cache-ec2.pinterest.com/upload/171066485815417781_1Lm7qh5g_c.jpgThoughts: I’m feeling blue. I looked forward to these holidays, and I don’t want them to end, but at the same time I feel like I’m drifting around. No exams to study for, no student government projects to work on… I’m reading a lot, which I should love, but I feel like I should DO something!

I don’t want Medicine to be what defines my life. Surely there must be more? I don’t believe that it is the ultimate goal. And I don’t believe that I can’t be anything worthwhile before I finally get that piece of paper. But what to do? Is this a normal feeling?

Semester at Sea continues to give me sleepless nights. Visas are a constant nightmare, so much so that I now need to apply for a temporary passport so that my travel agent can apply for my Moroccan visa once I have already left the country. Their embassy won’t let me apply for the visa before mid-January. Only, I don’t think one is allowed to have a passport and a temporary passport at the same time.

The only thing that has been helping for my… what? Frustration? Is running and chocolate. But not being particularly fit, I can only run so far.

4 thoughts on “Holiday Slump”

  1. Awww – I’m sending some good vibes your way. I know it must be frustrating to have visa/ passport problems, but just think of the gorgeous places you’ll be going to. And if that fails – I suppose another good book might helo 🙂

  2. I think that is a perfectly normal feeling. Med school kind of eats a lot of your life, so I always find when I have downtime that I need to do something, be something beyond the whole medicine thing because normally it feels like it takes up so much. I don’t know how to fix the feeling. I still get it from time to time, especially with downtime. I have been trying to focus downtime even more on family and community things.
    Semester at Sea will be awesome!
    I can’t run very far either (but I got much better at it the month between med school and residency… It does seem to help with those feelings).

    1. Thank you so much. It helps to know that I’m not the only one who has experienced this kind of emotion. I keep wanting to say, “I’M SO BORED!” but it’s not that, exactly. But I’m trying to work through it – thanks again!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

