Bookishness, Getting to know me

TTT: 2012 was a good year [the new authors edition]

It’s been a good year – at the very least, in terms of reading. It was nice to discover a bunch of new authors (maybe not new to the world, but certainly new to me) and that’s what this week’s Top Ten Tuesday is about. Here are my top ten new-to-me authors of 2012.

writing

1. Stephanie Perkins – I read and loved both Anna and the French Kiss and Lola. I tried to figure out why I, and many others who have a disdain for chick-lit and romance, enjoy Perkins’ books so much. I think part of it is that many strong women have grown to believe that love is a lost cause, and that it is stupid to expect a sweet and almost-perfect relationship. Perkins shows us that it is okay to want a beautiful relationship. After all, people have a tendency to live up to your expectations.

2. Cassandra Clare – I have read up to City of Glass in The Mortal Instruments. A lot of people have told me that City of Lost Souls and Fallen Angels don’t really live up to the first three, so I don’t think I’ll read them. Unless anybody wants to argue the case? I’m definitely going to read The Infernal Devices as well though!

3. John Green – I’ve only read The Fault in our Stars so far, but I’ve already bought Looking for Alaska as well, and I have fallen in love with the Vlog Brothers and Nerdfighteria!

4. Rosamund Kendal – If you haven’t heard me raving about The Angina Monologues or The Karma Suture, then you really are new to this blog 😉 [and welcome to you!] I’m nervous to read her latest offering because it isn’t in the same line as the other two, but I’ll definitely give it a go.

5. Imogen Edwards-Jones – The Babylon books are awesome and hilarious! Call it my dark-humoured side.

6. Joydeep Roy-Bhattacharya – It feels serendipitous. The one day I bough The Storyteller of Marrakesh on a whim, since I’ll hopefully be traveling to Morocco next year. The next day, I loaned The Watch from the library. Only a day later, I eyed the books sitting on my desk and realised that they were written by the same person!

7. Lily Herne – South African Zombie novel that I’ve gushed about plenty. I’m all for more South African authors breaking into the YA-arena, yes please.

8. Lauren Oliver – I’ve read Delirium and Hana so far, and although they aren’t my favourite reads of the year, Oliver is certainly a wonderful new discovery.

9. Megan McCafferty – I read Bumped and Sloppy Firsts. They are funny and endearing. Bumped was also a lovely combination of dystopia and debate.

10. Julie Anne Peters – I have only read Luna, but I love the way in which Peters addresses important issues for teenagers, and I’m keen to read more.

5 thoughts on “TTT: 2012 was a good year [the new authors edition]”

    1. It’s a step-up from YA… I don’t think you’d regret reading it! It’s not quite as deep as the books you usually read, but I think you’d like it. And your classes would definitely like it, I think!

  1. I read City of Bone this year and loved it, but made the mistake of reading reviews on Goodreads, and now I don’t know that I want to continue reading the series. I’m not a big fan of rebranded fanfiction, honestly.

      1. There’s a lot of controversy in the Goodreads reviews of her books–charges of plaugerism and such. It’s big enough that people have actually set up websites detailing it…

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

