A Tired, Anxious, Excited Post

It’s amazing how few places offer free wifi. But San Francisco does, and I’m super glad!

One of my (sponsored, not self-paid) tickets is First Class. It’s a first for me (see what I did there) and it’s pretty cool. I’m so full on good food that I don’t have much else to do during this layover but be on the internet (because I’ve already ogled all the lovely book stores).

Upon saying goodbye to the boy at the airport (I said bye to la familia 1000km before that), I had to suppress an unexpected bout of tears. I thought it was happy tears. But on the plane I got pretty anxious. I realised, wow, this is happening. Oh my holy cow, THIS IS HAPPENING.

And I’m not ready. Never in a million years am I ready.

And I thought, This is huge. What on Earth made you think you could do this?!

It was a relief to go on Facebook and see some of my fellow voyagers felt the same.

I felt like this before… when I went to an adventure summer camp for the first time. When I went to a new High School. When I went to Med School (heck, that didn’t pass). So… I hope I’ll get over these nerves! I think I’m feeling better already.

But there is no doubt that the girl who left South Africa a day and a bit ago, will return a very different person.

4 thoughts on “A Tired, Anxious, Excited Post”

  1. You will change, because you will see and do so much. Your horizons will expand. But fundamentally you will be you. And that is good, because you are wonderful. Carpe Diem!

  2. Change can be good – and you should return a different person – hopefully excited by life and all the new places you are going to – not just dreaming about 🙂 Have a wonderful time!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

