Uncategorized

Birthdays at Sea

It was my birthday yesterday. I turned 23, which makes me one of the oldest undergraduate students on the ship. Another (perk? downside?) to doing a six-year course.

Every day at sea, they announce the day’s birthdays during the afternoon announcements. There were two of us yesterday (or the day before? I don’t know which time stamp this post will show, but I’m currently at 10h30 GMT-12), and the other girl is actually a friend of mine, we have a class together and she turned a very young 20).

My roommate and a couple other people did some celebrating in Hawai’i. They got me McDonald’s, because I’d never had American McD’s before. But the ultimate birthday cake was a whole pint of Ben&Jerry’s Half-baked. YUMMMM. My folks wanted to order a cake for me onboard, but they’re so expensive and apparently not super-delicious, so I told them some cash would be just right.

So we didn’t do too much yesterday – it’s my first weekend-birthday in years, and I had class. How’s that for irony? We did buy delicious freshly-baked cookies, and dessert at dinner was chocolate pudding (special order? Maybe). My roommates decorated the room with balloons and streamers, which felt pretty festive.

What should I get with my birthday money?

  •  Semester at Sea Plushie
  •  Semester at Sea Hoodie
  • Spring 2013 official voyage shirt

I do wish I were with my family and The Boy though. I miss them so much.

7 thoughts on “Birthdays at Sea”

  1. Awww… you probably didn’t see all the facebook wishes for you on your birthday! I am glad you were celebrated, even if you missed the folks back home. I vote for less SAS “gear” and more experiences with the money. Happy birthday, sweetie.

  2. Happy Birthday! Glad you were celebrated on your special day. I have no idea what a plushie is, but my vote would be for the hoodie. A) You’ll get better wear out of it after this experience and B) you will want some souvenir piece of clothing. It’s been almost 10 years since I studied abroad in England & I’m still wearing my university’s rugby shirt. Brings back good memories 😉

  3. Happy Belated Birthday.Glad you had a good day.I would go for the hoodie. Who’s The Boy? Me thinks somebody’s in love or at least in deep like 🙂

  4. Happy belated birthday!
    (Sorry, I’ve been terrible about the internet recently…)
    It’s nice to hear that you had a good one – and as little consolation as this is for being away from home on such a day, at least you’ll be able to remember that you had a birthday in an exotic place (middle of the ocean ftw!) 😀
    I vote SAS hoodie. Because 1) SAS sounds like the best thing ever. If it was clothing I’d wear it all the time. 2) Hoodies are far sturdier than T-shirts. And hoodies are actually just awesome pieces of clothing.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

