TTT: Lightweights

A week back in the country and settling in is harder than expected. I haven’t even read a book, because exams are all-consuming. I suppose the South African Medicines Formulary is technically a book. Anyways, this week’s TTT is about books that are light and fun. I realised while writing this that I am not a light and fun person, apparently. I think I’m an intense-book-snob or something. Here are my (very rare) recommendations for light and fun books – that is, ones that won’t break your back or your heart. They do serve a purpose. In fact, I feel like reading one right now. But I can’t.

Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops by Jen Campbell – okay I lie, it seems I have read one book since I’ve been back. It’s a super short read though. Kind of funny, and I like that I know one person in it (Ellie at Musings of a Bookshop Girl). Some of the anecdotes are a little holier-than-thou and degrading, though, but mostly funny.

Daddy-Long-Legs by Jean Webster – here I go again with this book. It’s free, it’s light, and it’s more hilarious than you ever though a little repressed orphan girl could be. A tiny bit predictable as the end draws near, but nevertheless.

Anna and the French Kiss – I found this a little lighter than Lola. I feel like Anna is inherently happy despite her teenage issues. I don’t read many books like these, but I’ll definitely be reading Isla as well.

kid-eating2Spud by John van de Ruit – this South African boarding school series does it for me. It is hilarious and awesome to read. I think one part in Book 1 may be a little heavy, and then if you get attached to the characters Book 4 may be a sad goodbye, but really: this is one of my happiest reads.

Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty – I did not like this as much as I hoped, but it is light and funny without being completely airheaded.

Bumped by Megan McCafferty – a lot of people found the repro-speak and the whole concept incredibly annoying. It is a little, but I feel like it’s a fictional anthropological look into a foreign culture. And it’s funny and quick. Thumped is a little heavier to read, but still good.

Roald Dahl – oh dear. I guess I can’t say anything by him because he has some less-light things. Mh. The Roald Dahl Treasury is always good. And George’s Marvelous Medicine is simply the funniest. And you are never too old to relax with Roald Dahl.

The Manny by Holly Peterson – I can’t figure out why I enjoyed this one so much. Upper East Side scandals and a love triangle and what-not – it has everything a trashy novel needs. But it really is not trashy. And it is a feel-good read, eventually.

All-American Girl by Meg Cabot – secret: I tried reading The Princess Diaries in high school, and it just didn’t work for me. This one was golden, though.

It Shouldn’t Happen to a Vet by James Herriot – I am told that this isn’t even Herriot’s funniest collection. I read it when I thought I wanted to be a vet, and re-read it when I changed my mind, and it was superb both times.

mother-cow-and-calf2

5 thoughts on “TTT: Lightweights”

  1. I really enjoyed reading your list. I haven’t heard of a lot of the books on it, but I think I will have to check a couple out. It Shouldn’t Happen to a Vet sounds really interesting, as does Weird Things Customers Say in Bookshops.

  2. I wrote this list and said the exact same thing in my intro – I’m just not really a light and fun person…

    That being said, Meg Cabot is good and fluffy reading!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

