Bookishness, Getting to know me

Top Ten Books Of 2013 So Far

Guys, things are crazy right now. I’m the only person on my paediatric surgery rotation which means that I am being kept super busy! All of the ward round questions come to ME, eeeek! I may be rather scarce for a while. Or for the next 18 months, considering that this is the last stretch… Anyway, today’s Top Ten Tuesday is about the top ten books I’ve read so far this year. (That’s awesome and all. Now here’s to hoping I manage to read more books in the second half of the year.)

1. Railsea by China Mieville – I read so many books recommended by GirlXOXO. I definitely loved this one more than she did though! I loved the world-building, the out-there-ness, and the depth. It was utterly confusing at times, but it was a pleasant kind of confusion.

2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – What a scary proposition this is. It was a thrilling read. ALL the emotions…

3. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot – I am SO GLAD I finally read this one. I was tweeting #HeLa all over the place. When people say it reads like a novel they are not joking. I was reading it during my Gynaecology rotation so that I could convince myself I was studying, but it didn’t feel like studying at all.

4. Looking for Alaska by John Green – My second John Green book. I liked it! I used to love boarding school novels, so it was fun reading a YA-spin of it. And I cried. This book makes you ugly-cry.

5. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – Wow, this author winds you up and plays you like a yo-yo. Incredible. Had me screaming at characters. I don’t like the ending, but it remains a great work.

6. The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – This book had me looking under my bed before going to sleep. Fast paced. Love it.

7. Days of Blood & Starlight by Laini Taylor – the second book in Daughter of Smoke & Bone. I loved the Moroccan setting especially! And many plot twists and turns. Not as WOW as the first book, but still good.

8. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards – Talk about intensity. This one had me thinking and agonising over the characters’ choices. An incredible premise for a novel that extends much further than face value.

9. The Big Necessity by Rose George – I’m still going on about this one. Does not read quite as much like a novel as HeLa, maybe more like a travelogue. Wonderful.

10. The Radiation Sonnets by Jane Yolen – It has been a while since an anthology of poems incapacitated me as this one did. Besides the fact that it gave me something to refer to during my surgery rotations, it is also just beautiful.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Of 2013 So Far”

  1. Okay, okay, I hear such great things about The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks that I’m just going to have to get it now! I’ve been dithering over it for a few years now but I keep seeing it today and I think that must be a message, right? 😉

    Love Mieville’s books, in general, even though I struggled with the first one, Perdido Street Station – bit too long and very slow! Amazing talent at world-building though. I’m way behind on his books now, I still have Embassytown and The Kraken to read, but I loved The Scar and Iron Road.

    I’m so in love with Laini Taylor’s fantasy trilogy! I didn’t like Looking for Alaska much at all, I found it too self-indulgent and I’ve known people like Alaska in real life and really didn’t like them, so that book didn’t work for me at all, sadly. Handmaid’s Tale: classic! I’ve got Gone Girl and The Scorpio Races to-read still, oh and I’ve had The Memory Keeper’s Daughter for years and keep forgetting about it! whoops.

    My TTT

  2. I looooved Looking for Alaska and Scorpio Races, too! If I’d read them this year they probably would’ve made my list as well, lol. I still need to read Gone Girl and Daughter of Smoke & Bone though, they sound so good. Great picks this week!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT 🙂

  3. I am still so excited you finally read The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. It is so good. I need to pick up Looking For Alaska and as usual, most of the books on your list sound intriguing.

  4. I love The Handmaid’s Tale. Gone Girl frustrated the hell out of me but I agree that it is very well constructed and it manipulates the reader masterfully! I’ve heard good things about The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

