Bookishness, Getting to know me

Series, Sequels, Books

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic is about the best sequels, and in two weeks’ time it will be about the worst series enders. So I’m going to cheat a little with this week’s post, because I don’t think I’ve read enough series or sequels to answer either of those questions (I do prefer stand-alones). So I’m doing my own bit of series-reflection, and I hope you won’t mind. I did a TTT about series last year, which is quite interesting to compare.

Series I finished and loved

1. Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – always

2. The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix – except apparently he’s still promising a fourth book, in which case…

3. The Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness – this one annoyed me a little, and the ending I didn’t like, but I’m still glad I read it.

4. Bumped by Megan McCafferty

5. Brian’s Saga by Gary Paulsen – better known as the Hatchet books; I loved these!

Series I started but don’t intend on finishing

1. The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare – I read the first three, and I loved them. I just think the story ended well there, and I have no desire to open a new can of worms. And from what I’ve heard, #3 really should have been number-last.

2. The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson – I really enjoy the story (in a non-masochist kind of way) but the writing is just way too drawn out to my liking. This might be a candidate for an audiobook attempt… maybe.

3. Ender’s Saga by Scott Orson Card – I read the first book this year, and I liked it. Again, I don’t really have the desire to read beyond the end of that first book, and again I’ve been told that the rest of the books pale in comparison.

4. Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shephard – this is basically like Gossip Girl, except with a little more of the scare/thrill factor. Not for me, thanks.

5. Delirium by Lauren Oliver – an interesting premise and the first book had such a hectic cliffhanger, but something about ti wasn’t enough to make me burn to read the rest.

I think more and more that the secret to enjoying a series is reading it only when all the books are available – obviously that’s not what authors and publishers prefer, though! Anyway, I think people should read whatever they enjoy, but I am not about to force myself to read a book I don’t enjoy when there are so many others waiting to be read.

11 thoughts on “Series, Sequels, Books”

  1. Have you read the Divergent series by Veronica Roth? I thoroughly enjoyed it, and the last book is due out in October, so if you haven’t read it yet, start now and then you will be in time for the last one;-) I also Loved Harry Potter! Delerium was ok, I did read all of them but the first book was the best one. I have read all Cassandra Clare books bar for The Clockwork Princess, and I have to admit to wanting to see the movie… which is not my norm as I dont usually watch movies of books. I loved the Steig Larson trilogy, a bit gruesome but v good! Abhorson trilogy was awesome and I managed to read one and a half books of Chaos Walking and then got bored:-( There were way more interesting books to read! An aside, a book I have recently finished: The Strongest Librarian in the World, was a lovely memoir of a guy who has tourettes. Makes for interesting reading, I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much so I read it in day and a half. Goodness, I have just written you an essay;-)!

    1. I have read it indeed, and I’m eagerly awaiting the final installment!
      BTW, I heard the TMI movie was a colossal flop – I also actually wanted to see it.
      We have some similar tastes – and some different. I like it!
      The book about the librarian sounds awesome. I’ll look around for it 🙂

  2. Exactly how I felt about Delirium! It was nice and fun and the CLIFFHANGER made me a huge fan of the series but as time past, something of the book feels missing and although I pushed through Pandemonium… Not sure if I should move on to Requiem at all! :/

    Love your twist to this week’s TTT!

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

  3. I’m with you on The Chaos Walking trilogy – although I liked the ending more than the first 2 books.

    I am so NOT with you on The Millenium tri. I loved it!!! Yes – it’s long … but so action packed 🙂

    Okay, back with you on The Mortal Instruments series. I loved the first 3 books – then I was like – wtf? More … I even read the first one after that, but I knew I had to take a stand and not read anymore because I don’t want to encourage this non-sensical behavior in other authors. If a series is supposed to be a 3 book series. Then resist the urge to write more. Period.

  4. Ooh and for the record – love your spin on this sequel topic. It’s the only one I’m reading – because honestly, I can predict the books I’ll see on ALL the lists (okay – maybe not all, but all that I’d get to).

  5. I’ve sadly never read Harry Potter. -hides-
    As for TMI, great move! City of Fallen Angels was a disaster – NOTHING really happened until the end.
    Great list & thanks for stopping by my TTT! (:

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

