Books I Wish for this Christmas

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is about our most anticipated 2014 releases, but I decided to jump a few weeks ahead and do the 24 December topic: Top Ten Books I Wouldn’t Mind Santa Bringing Me. Reasons being a) I’m not too phased about anticipating new releases because it takes a while to reach South Africa, usually and b) my family will be wanting to buy my Christmas presents before Christmas Eve… hint-hint, nudge-nudge, bash-bash.

christmasbooks

1. PostSecret Books by Frank Warren – any of the books except for Extraordinary Confessions from Ordinary Lives and My Secret, as I already have these. They always make my list. I love these books immeasurably.

2. A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki – I just finished reading We Need New Names by NoViolet Bulawayo, and this is another Booker nominee I would love to read and own. I like reading books set in different countries, in case that’s not glaringly obvious.

3. Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein – I read Code Name Verity this year (bought it at a massive discount) and it did not disappoint. I would love to read Rose Under Fire too.

4. Wreck This Journal by Keri Smith – please please please I neeeeed this one. For my 25 Before 25 project. 

5. Tell  the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt – fiction about HIV in the 1980s? You know I need this book.

6. The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison – because. It sounds awesome.

7. The Infographic History of the World by Valentina D’Efilippo – this is one awesome hardcover book that would keep me occupied for ages.

An example of a page from The Infographic History of the World

8. Lives of Girls and Women by Alice Munro – because I haven’t read her and one should read a Nobel Prize winner sometimes, no?

9. Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them: Newt Scamander by J.K. Rowling – I didn’t even know this book existed. Potter!

10. Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan – the premise sounds great. Plus, I’ve never read a book in Greek Chorus.

So, those are some of the books I’m yearning for. But frankly, any book on my TBR list will be received with open arms (unless I already own it, hehe.)

22 thoughts on “Books I Wish for this Christmas”

  1. About the Harry Potter one, it is a thin little book that Rowling wrote for Red Nose Day or Children in Need or some other charity. When I bought mine it was bundled with The History of Quidditch in a little plastic baggie that looks like a school bag. I’ve not seen either of them sold individually. Just so you know what to look out for (your best bet will probably be online). As I recall it was quite cheap. You know there’s a Tales of Beedle the Bard as well?

  2. Hello Barefoot Medical Student: I LOVE your blog! In tomorrow’s post, I would like to include a link to your earlier post on treating HIV/AIDS in a SA hospital – can you pls help me to locate it? I thoroughly enjoyed it and my community will too. I’m posting a story on Mandela. Thanks, gobsmackingstuff.com

    1. Hi! Thanks for your kind words. Sorry for the late response – I have been out of town. I’m not sure which post you are referring to, but all my posts tagged HIV/AIDS can be located here: https://barefootmeds.wordpress.com/tag/hivaids/

      I wrote about SA public hospitals in general here – I referred a little to HIV in it, so I’m not sure if that may be it: https://barefootmeds.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/how-to-tell-you-work-at-a-south-african-public-hospital/

      If you still can’t find me, let me know any further details of the post and I’ll see if I can remember which one it may have been.

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

