Getting to know me

25 Before 25: I Can Drive!

Dear Bloggy Friends: everyone has their embarrassing truth – sometimes more than one. One of my embarrassing realities is (WAS!) that I do not have a driver’s license. In my final year of high school, when I was old enough to test, I thought I was “too busy”. And I was pretty busy with all of the things I had on my plate (because every Matric intent on medical admission believes they must fill every hour of their day with activity). If only I knew university would be much, much busier (DUH).

I was swiftly on my way to be like this guy. JOKES, who am I kidding?

BUT NOW I CAN DRIVE!

I have to say that it may well have been the hardest test I’ve ever done. And I know people will roll their eyes at that, but seriously. Okay, maybe the anaesthetics practical assessment was more difficult, but the machine check did prepare me for the pre-trip vehicle inspection.

So here’s how not to become a fifth year medical student who can’t drive: JUST. DO. IT.

If high school and debate team and sports and olympiads are keeping you to busy to learn to drive, then you are TOO busy.

That is all. (And one more thingy off my 25 Before 25 to-do list.)

15 thoughts on “25 Before 25: I Can Drive!”

  1. Congratulations! And the test is hard, as in this country your options are an examiner who will fail you no matter what unless you bribe him, or an examiner who is incorruptible but also believes being fair is the same as being as strict as humanly possible. Enjoy this new level of independance.

    1. Good analysis, thank you! I had quite a strict examiner (says the grapevine), but at least she wasn’t mean, as I’ve heard some are. I’ll try to enjoy as much as the petrol price allows πŸ˜›

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

