Bookishness, Getting to know me

Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts #4

Linking up with Christine from Bookishly Boisterous for this post. In her words, It allows book bloggers (or any blogger, for that matter) to write about pretty much anything, bookish or otherwise.

xmasbookishthoughts

1. I GOT BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS! From now on I’m setting up a wishlist early again, like this year. Both books were from my wishlist – Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt and A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki. What’s more, The Boy was the Santa. He had me convinced that he was getting me something “more practical”.

2. I gave only one book, Looking for Alaska by John Green. It was to my little brother, and I hope that he will love it. It was one of his wishlist books. I used to believe in giving EVERYONE books, but much as I hate to admit it, some people just don’t like reading. And the last thing I want to give is a white elephant gift.

3. My first rotation for the year in will be in rural family medicine. The hospital I’m going is a wonderful place but I am a little nervous. There is a lot that needs to be done in January that I will need to delegate somehow. And there is being away from everyone I know, and being in a brand new place…

4. I’ve been a little slow on reading this past while, but I feel like that is okay for now. We are holidaying with my family and I think sometimes you learn to put the book down in order to foster good relationships.

5. I saw Sby J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst. It is book, The Ship of Theseus, with the margin notes of two people, and their postcards and everything! So, it’s a story within a story, and a literary experiment. It is also really expensive but I’ve decided I want it. Need it. BADLY.

6. Speaking of holiday: we went to the Vaal River a while back. “Vaal” means grey or bland – and I’d always thought of that part of South Africa (Gauteng/Free State) in that sense. How surprised I was when it was beautiful and lush and green. And very thunder-stormy. “River” also meant “watersports” – so much that at one point I suspected I was concussed.

7. Speaking of holiday again: We’re having a great time in Cape Town, going places we haven’t been ever or in a long time. We went to the Castle of Good Hope and it was actually a great history lesson… the early colonialist history of South Africa isn’t really taught much in South Africa, and now that I’ve been to the castle I can see why that is a bad thing… ignoring a part of our history does not erase it.

8.  It really annoys me when a book pretends to be about a strong career woman, and just ends up being about her love life. In the past month I DNF’ed two books for  that reason – Madame Tussaud by Michelle Moran and Kronkelpad  by Irma Joubert. The former is taglined “Can love survive the revolution?” so I guess I should have known. The latter is a South African book about a female doctor during the 1950s polio outbreak, and I was so excited about it until I realised the book was revolving around how her friends have boyfriends and she doesn’t.

9. ParkRuns are really awesome. My time is getting better too. It’s not a great time for a 5km, but it improves steadily. And maybe, just maybe, I am beginning to enjoy running.

10. Went to an antique shop in Parys, Free State. They didn’t have any cool books, but they did have an old textbook. I didn’t think it was cool until I opened it and saw this. I love little personalised things in old books like this. I can imagine a lovestruck high school senior doing this – either in her own book or the book of her boyfriend. I still didn’t buy it, though. I don’t have much use for it.

DSCN4977

6 thoughts on “Bookish (and not so bookish) Thoughts #4”

  1. Yay for books! Tell the Wolves I’m Home is seriously lovely, I hope you love it! I hope A Tale for the Time Being is great, too! It’s definitely understandable to read less in holidays! S looks amazing!!

    I hope your rotation goes fantastically! Your holiday trips sound nice! I hope you have fun visiting and spending time with family!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

