Happy New Year: A 25-Before-25 Update

Happy New Year, everybody. I’m not really posting resolutions, but I am updating about my 25 Before 25 project. I also have a few goals coming up in a Top Ten Tuesday post next week. Anyways, here are some updates on these “goals”. I’m only addressing some points that have something worth saying. You can see all my goals at the original post.

25 before 25

1. Circumnavigate the globe

Did this. It was awesome. Click here for all my posts about Semester at Sea.

2. Visit a place in South Africa for the first time

I visited a few of these the past few months. Hole-in-the-Wall (gorgeous), the Vaal River, Franschhoek (great cultural and historic experience). It’s not like I spent longer than a day there, but they were new places to me, and they were wonderful. Here is to discovering more of my own country.

The French Huguenot Monument in Franschhoek
The French Huguenot Monument in Franschhoek

7. Get comfortable cooking at least three dishes

I can make a mean butter chicken and a pretty good Hawaiian chicken. And the beginnings of a cottage pie. Getting there, guys.

8. Establish an exercise routine

Routine is a pretty subjective term here. My life is way too chaotic to have a real routine (as in running at a set time on set days). But I am running semi-regularly, and started participating in Parkruns, a beyond awesome initiative. I’m even getting excited about buying new jogging pants (so pretty!) and put exercise things on my Christmas list, which I actually got. We’ll see how it goes this year.

10. Make handmade Christmas or Birthday gifts

Yeah… gotta try this again this year. I got as far as making some origami stars and then… I got busy.

11. Sew

I sewed a button onto one of my work shirts (do I sound useless?). That’s about it right now. I also need to put a seam into one of my summer shorts. I don’t think this goal is going to go much beyond mendings and alterations. I have friends who make their own hoodies and so own. Well, I can sew wounds closed, okay!

12. Participate in NaNoWriMo

I did! I didn’t hit the word count, but I did write quite regularly, and the goal says “participate”, not “win”. I really enjoyed participating though. Writing changes the way you read: it makes you more critical but also more appreciative. I have learned the value in planning ahead of time, and of research. I do still plan on finishing a manuscript at some point.

13. Do a “Wreck This Journal”

It is proving really difficult to get this one in South Africa. I mean, affordably. I am considering changing it to making an altered book, which is kind of the same. I found this The Documented Life thing, where I can use my own planner. The people on there seem waaaay more artsy than me. But it could be fun right? And the point of getting a Wreck This Journal was to be creative and fun and all out.

14. Get my driver’s license

I did it!

19. Start a project

I’m supposed to be doing this on my Family Medicine rotation soon, and I still have no ideas! Help!

20. Read 25 books that I currently own

I’ve read 13 of them so far.

21. Read an audiobook

Done!

25. Graduate MB.ChB

My final year begins Monday. I am scared out of my mind.

15 thoughts on “Happy New Year: A 25-Before-25 Update”

  1. My dear sweet friend. Take care and go easy in your field. Medicine is the highest calling except weather forecasting. LOL, I am a Meteorologist. But I am serious. I know that it is exhaustive and I pray you get by and be rewarded for your sacrifices.

    Have a Happy 2014 and beyond and ty for reading my blogs/
    The count of confusion and anarchy’
    Larry

  2. Number 25- you did all the rest of the hard years so far, so this one, with hard work, will also get done successfully. I am so glad there are people like you in South Africa, and may this be an awesome year for you, despite all the hard work! But what happened to 3-6 on your list?

  3. Wow, congratulations!! Those are all awesome accomplishments/adventures. 🙂 Also, those “Wreck This Journal” books are only $10 in the US — is the postage really outrageous? I can send one to you if you’d like! (And so long as it doesn’t cost a kidney..)

    As for #25…it sounds like you’re going to be just fine. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    1. Thank you, Allie! It seems it is the shipping – or at least, so my bookshops claim, although I suspect they are making a fat profit. I discovered that I could get the journal for $12.23 at The Book Depository (free shipping) which is pretty cool and reasonably affordable for a book, even with our silly currency. I’m just trying to figure out a way around the issue of not having a credit card and PayPal being pretty inaccessible for most of South African bank accounts. I really appreciate your offer, it is so kind of you! If I can work my way around these little “issues”, then I don’t have to inconvenience you. It’s not a kidney, but still 😉

  4. Well done so far and take pride in how much you have achieved so far. Also be encouraged as you go into final year that you have people around the world supporting you and praying for you thank you for keeping us a part of your journey

    1. Thank you for your concern 🙂 it seems the problem is that the bookshops here have to order it from the States AND are then making a huge profit out of it. It seems I can actually get it from The Book Depository for $12.23 (which is not too bad even with our crazy currency), but I don’t have a credit card that I can use for the payment and my bank doesn’t work with PayPal yet. So it’s just a lot of red tape that I haven’t figured out how to work around yet! But I’ll probably figure out a way to work around it? If they accept South African cards I’ll try to twist my dad’s arm to use his! Really appreciate your kind offer – I don’t want to be a bother though! But I will let you know if I run into stumbling blocks. Thank you!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

