Bookishness

Book Review: Confessions by Kanae Minato [J-horror]

Her pupils killed her daughter. Now, she will have her revenge.

I have a lot of feelings about this book, so I apologise in advance for a rambling review. The first feeling is one of regret: not that I regret reading it, not at ALL; but regret that I did not love it as much as I had intended.

The other feelings are harder to name, so let me start off with some pointers: I love reading books set in different countries. I love learning about different cultures through books, although I am aware that books may offer only one viewpoint or exaggerated ones.

Last year, I spent a short while in Japan, which I loved. I enjoyed the people a lot and never really experienced it as a dark or violent country at all. I suppose that was one of the things that was difficult for me, namely trying to merge what I had experienced of Japan and what this novel was showing me.

Minato is Japanese, so I would never try to suggest that she is not portraying the real Japan: it is simply a Japan I don’t know.

I was not fond of the language used in the novel, although I can see stylistically why it was chosen. I wondered if it may be a translation issue, but again I know that Japanese is everything but a plain language, so I suspect that the dull and removed writing style was chosen to contribute to the tension.

Before reading this book, I had some limited experience with Japanese literature. I had read 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami, which I sorely disliked. I had tried to read Battle Royale but it had proven to be just too much for me (I do still blanch at a few things, it seems). I had also read a few Manga, which I mostly enjoyed.

Some photos I took while in Japan. Just because.
Some photos I took while in Japan. Just because.

What I have learned so far is that for a society so well-behaved, Japanese literature is anything BUT. It is both shocking and incredible. If it can be imagined by the mind, it can be written, and society would much quicker eat it up than condemn it.

DISCOMFORT was a big aspect of this novel for me. A teacher taking revenge on her kids seems… cold. But I’m certain many teachers would consider revenge, even if it is socially inappropriate. Because murder is pretty socially inappropriate too…

I was uncomfortable with the use of HIV as a central point in the plot, because a lot of misconceptions are used and never corrected. I’m certain that was done purposefully as well, but it made me uneasy. I know that Japan has a pretty good HIV-education program though.

Cutest health promotion ever, right? So kawaii! Click for more.
Cutest health promotion ever, right? So kawaii! Click for more.

Lastly, these characters are AWFUL! Not poorly crafted characters, oh no: Minato is a master character-builder, but they were not very nice (again: probably purposefully). If you want a book where you feel emotionally attached to at least one of the characters this probably isn’t for you.

Confessions is labelled J-horror, but it’s not really scary per se… but it certainly is horrific. It is actually also a fascinating sociological painting. I would really like to discuss the novel with people who have lived or still live in Japan, as I think they could help me understand things a lot more.

Ultimately, I can see why this is such a popular book and I think it is a pretty good piece of work; unfortunately I just didn’t really like it very much.

I received an eARC of this book via NetGalley and the publisher, Mulholland Books. This has not biased my review.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Confessions by Kanae Minato [J-horror]”

  1. I have read couple of books on Japan from Murakami and Memoirs of Geisha. Yes, they were from different era altogether and depicted completely different picture of Japan.

    this one looks like an intriguing read.

  2. Hi!

    I noticed that you were subscribed to my previous blog (www.teawithMD.com) via wordpress. In the past few weeks I have actually given my blog a complete makeover and transitioned to a different server. Unfortunately this means all of my dear readers got unsubscribed from my website! If you would like to continue reading about health and beauty through a medical lens, please consider subscribing on my blog or liking my Facebook page (www.facebook.com/teawithMD/) to get the latest updates.

    Thank you!

    Cheers,

    Dr. Joyce
    http://www.teawithMD.com

  3. I did enjoy this one, and immediately bought 1Q84 after reading it…and was considering Battle Royale! My experience teaching in Korea (where I was immediately before I read this book in Japan) did show me the darker side of their culture, and many of those elements showed up in the pages of Confessions. That’s not to say that my students had awful lives, but I can see how this type of novel would be a sort of outlet for the stresses they experience. This was a great review and it definitely made me think about a few aspects of the novel!

    1. Thanks for sharing your experience – I think one would definitely be more aware of these finer intricacies after living in working in that part of the world! I’m hoping I can get more accustomed to Japanese literature because it is so acclaimed!

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

