Ten Places Books Make Me Wanderlust For

I realise that is the most awkward sentence but… YOLO. Today with Top Ten Tuesday we discuss places books have  made us want to visit, whether fictional or real. I LOVE this topic! I definitely have the travel bug and I once did a list of books that feature travel in some way. I can’t visit all the places on this list, but that doesn’t mean I don’t travel there in my dreams!

1. Hogwarts

(Harry Potter, J.K. Rowling)

This will forever and always be #1 on my list (the rest of the list is in no particular order). I so want to be in that old castle, eat in the magnificent dining hall, go through the massive library. Please please please can it exist for realsies.

2. Czech Republic

(Daughter of Smoke and Bone Series, Laini Taylor)

These books also make me wanderlust for Morocco, but I’ve already been there. I’ve NOT been to the Czech Republic and it sounds just fantastic. And historic. And stuff.

3.  Detroit

(Broken Monsters, Lauren Beukes)

I had no idea that Detroit had so much art and culture and personality. I just thought of it as that bankrupt city. Now I really want to see its gritty self. But I sure hope there aren’t really such sicko murderers there though…

4. Netherlands

(Just One Day, Gayle Forman)

We get a tonne of elective students from Utrecht and Amsterdam, and it sounds like a lovely place. Bicycles! Rivers! Universities!

5. Nigeria

(Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor)

I’ve always been interested in The Giant of Africa, but reading about Sunny just makes me want to see it for myself even more. Even if there isn’t as much magic as in the book! I can’t even choose a picture because it would just reveal my ignorance about the many faces of Nigeria.

6. Neverland

(Tiger Lily, Jodi Lynn Anderson)

Wild and dangerous and beautiful. Gimme!

7. Malaysia

(The Garden of Evening Mists, Tan Twan Eng)

I want to see the mountains and the tea plantations… they sound incredible!

8. The Ocean

(Life of Pi, Yann Martel)

Don’t get me wrong, I certainly don’t want to be shipwrecked! I just really enjoyed living on a ship for four months. The ocean lulled me to sleep and greeted me every morning and it was lovely. There was that one time that we were in a massive Pacific storm, but, you know… we survived it 🙂

DSCN3994
En route from Mauritius to South Africa. Isn’t it too beautiful?

9. Some Massachusetts Apple Farm

(Songs of the Humpback Whale, Jodi Picoult)

Yeah, yeah, I’m a big sop. It sounds beautiful though, doesn’t it?

10. The Eastern Cape, South Africa

(Shades, Marguerite Poland)

This is where I hail from. This is where my roots grow. And with all its problems, my heart always yearns for the rugged Eastern Cape.

What is on your bookish wanderlust-list! Share with me! 🙂

21 thoughts on “Ten Places Books Make Me Wanderlust For”

  1. What? No Narnia? I kinda want to visit Westeros as well, but I’m not that hot on the idea of a horrible pointless death. Middle Earth would also be nice, as long as I can spend all my time in Hobbiton, Rivendell and Lothlorien and never actually have to travel between them, as once again, horrible pointless death and such.

    Ooh, and the Discworld. Definitely the Discworld.

    Erm…should I be concerned that all the places I want to visit are made up?

    To be safe, let’s add Seattle to the list – a city built on top of another city and you can actually visit the under-city? Very cool. Also Forks (though please hold the vampires) and any European city that has featured in a Dan Brown novel (his writing is filled with plot holes and shoddy research, but he has a gift for bringing his settings to life and making them seem even more magical than they already are).

    1. No Narnia simply because I never actually read the books, I only watched the movies… but I would love to go there, too! Hobbiton would be lovely, but I agree with avoiding pointless deaths! I haven’t read the Discworld novels yet (don’t shoot), so I can’t comment on that yet…
      I had NO IDEA that Seattle was a city built on a city… I just googled it and OMG YES. I need to go there and see it!

  2. I love your picks! Although, in symmetrical fashion, I would never go to Neverland – and I quite like pirates!

  3. I would love to visit Discworld too like Kokkie, and I’ve wanted to visit Malaysia too ever since I read The Garden of Evening Mists. The highlands sound so beautiful.

    1. Yes, the highlands sound out of this world. I seek that peace and quiet from the book!
      I have to say Wonderland is not on my list because it freaks me out, but I’m sure it could be quite fun for the adventure-seeker!

  4. Love the photos you’ve used and your reasons for wanting to visit, am especially in love with the Hogwarts image. I need a framed photo of that castle to just stare at on a rough day! R x

  5. Oh, I can’t believe I forgot to mention the Czech Republic on my own list – what was I thinking?! Just about every locale in Laini Taylor’s books is a place I’d love to visit. Especially Eretz, and the temple that served as Akiva and Madrigal’s meeting place.

  6. Most excellent list! Lots of unique places and love the pictures! I’d love to live on the ocean, get one of those rad boats with the cabin underneath (with plenty of food and water and no storms lol). 😀

    -Lety @ Gone With The Words

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

