Uncategorized

Which Med School Should You Choose?

I’ve been getting many questions from South African students about which medical school they should choose and which is the best, so instead of trying to remember what I said every time, I figured I’d write a general post about my thoughts.

Here’s a disclaimer though: I applied to only one medical school (long story) so I didn’t have the problem of needing to choose. So feel free to take my opinion with a pinch of salt (as you should with this whole entire blog, actually :P).

First, if you’re asking me which school you should choose, I’m assuming this is post-acceptance. The general rule (do as I say, not as I do) should be to apply to as many schools as you can afford. So if you can’t choose between UCT and Stellenbosch before you apply… don’t choose! Apply to both, and if you get accepted to both, THEN you can start worrying.

When it comes down to making the real decision, there are so many factors to consider. I’ll address just a few:

1. How “good” the school is

You’d think that with the small number of medical schools we have in South Africa, it wouldn’t be so hard to decide which is best. Actually, it’s still as hard because none of us follow the exact same syllabus, we are all accredited by the HPCSA, and none of us have the same standardised examinations. So how you classify how “good” the school is, really depends on your sources. You could ask clinical staff at hospitals what there experiences are with new interns. You could read those big ratings that are published every year or two. All of these have biases, but you get to choose which you want to take or leave.

A note on rating scales: a lot of those ratings depend purely on the quantity of research published and not the quality or the ratio. Just one example of why ratings can be misleading. The Financial Mail has a good article highlighting the various factors making a “good” university.

If you have a lot of time and you don’t mind the effort, the best would be to physically look through the curriculum. What do they teach their first years? When do they start with clinical work? How do the graduates from the specific school reflect on their experiences there?

2. How “nice” the school is

Travel is expensive, but if you can I highly suggest visiting the different campuses. For some reason, most medical campuses in South Africa are fugly! But knowing what you’re going to be looking at for the next six years might be useful in your decision-making.

3. Language-policy

I am a firm proponent of knowing medical terminology in at LEAST two official languages, preferably three. Will your classes be purely in one language? If not, will you be able to keep up with the second language? Are basic conversational skills in a third language taught? Is it a matter of a six-week crash course, or is it a nice longitudinal model?

4. Politics

Some of us thrive on politics and drama. Others don’t. Me, I respect the place that strikes and politics have in our society, but I don’t really want them to interfere with my medical training. I don’t want my classes to be cancelled because some of my colleagues have decided to take my professors hostage (yes, really). You might want to consider how often classes at your potential school are disrupted by protest action and whether you can deal with that or not.

5. Finances

What are the chances that you can get a bursary of some sort with a specific school? For most of us, university is very expensive, and choosing the school that offers you a free ride can be a wise decision.

6.ย Can you be happy there?

Honestly, I think this one may be the most important, yet it is the one we so often ignore. You could attend the world’s best medical school and if you were miserable it wouldn’t be worth it. I think it goes along with the whole medical field martyrdom attitude. You don’t have to be a martyr. You ARE allowed to enjoy your med school years. So absolutely, choose a medical school with the kind of values and social life and environment where you will be happy.

Of course it is true that happiness is not always about things and places, but you CAN choose your environment such that you have as big a chance as possible to be happy. [For me, that includes being in a coastal province, which is why I will always choose UCT, SU or UKZN above others in hypothetical scenarios.]

I wish I could give more clear-cut answers. I could totally post a list of what I think is the best-to-worst medical school in South Africa, but that would be just MY opinion. I, too, have limited knowledge about schools that are not my own, gathered from biased information sources.

One last thing: If you find yourself ending up at a school that you think is less than optimal in reputation or education, take heart: more important than the school is the student. That is why so-called great schools sometimes produce sub-par doctors, and “bad” schools still manage to produce great doctors.

Good luck (and congratulations!) to everyone that has to make this difficult decision. Be great!

Are you a med student that struggled to choose between schools (in any country)? Whichย strategy did you use?

21 thoughts on “Which Med School Should You Choose?”

  1. In the UK you are only allowed to apply to four medical schools. This means people often end up picking schools that they think they would get accepted into and not necessarily taking into account the things you mention above. So they end up at the medical not actually liking the course structure or the city.

  2. How interesting to read your recommendation of classes being taught in more than one language. I wish here in the US, medical Spanish was part of the med-school curriculum. I studied French, but that has done me little good over here. Spanish would have been far more useful.

    By the way, did you change blog themes? Your site looks great. It appears, though, that WordPress unfollowed you for me. It’s not the first time that’s happened. I’ll follow again, and hopefully you’ll continue to show up in my reader. It’s interesting for me to learn about medical education in other countries.

    1. Yeah, I often hear about American students struggling with the Spanish language barrier and then I wonder why they aren’t taught basic medical Spanish. DEfinitely seems useful.
      Wordpress sometimes unfollows people for me too, no worries. I didn’t change themes but I did fix a few glitches – thanks!

  3. I had been there too, but as my doctor said the basic are the same everywhere, so i just chose the one at my hometown, nothing better than being at home ๐Ÿ’•

  4. Great post! Applications seem like they happened 10 years ago. I sent in essays to about 12-15 schools… my wallet wasn’t happy but I hoped to increase the odds of being in the 10% who receive a slot in medical school. On this side of the pond, preference is given to residents from the same state as the medical school (in-state tuition is cheaper and I am nearer to family.) The time spent studying and working summer job’s was worth it–couldn’t see myself anywhere else (even if I am still studying and now paying to work!)

  5. What a fantastic post. In future, I will be referring many a person here. I get a bit of a fit when people start dirt-talking an entire institution based on one interaction with a graduate/student/person. (Judging the person on one or limited interactions also sends me off on a gentle rant.)
    and also:
    “more important than the school is the student”. You speak the truth.

  6. Thanks for the insight BarefootMegz. This post really helped me in making an informed decision. There was literally a war in my mind , and I felt like I was in a pit of uncertainty after Wits , SU , and UP all gave me a firm offer. I had to take a look at what each institution is offering me , only to find out that only SU is offering me a merit award bursary. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I applied to Wits (I’m originally from Joburg, and with the graduate entry medical programme four years is much better than six at my age); UCT (I’m currently doing my Masters in the Faculty of Health Sciences there) and Stellenbosch (One of the few South African universities that’s looks at factors other than Matric for graduate applicants to Medicine). My order of preference was Wits, UCT and then Stellenbosch. I didn’t get accepted to Wits or UCT but I got accepted to Stellenbosch. Really weird how things work out. I am stressing about the dual language factor now, I’m useless at languages and my Afrikaans sucks!

    1. Well, congrats on your acceptance! I’m sorry you did not get your first two choices, but getting accepted is such a monumental thing that you can really be proud of yourself!
      Do not stress too much about the language factor. Your Afrikaans will improve a lot but there really is a LOT of English and all the textbooks and notes are in English in any case. You will reach a point where you forget that language ever was a factor!
      Good luck! You will be great ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments make me happy. Say hi :)

